Copyright December 2002 by Robert W. Scott
Churches of Jefferson County
For those who wonder what church their ancestors belonged to in Jefferson County, the answer can be daunting. There are about 200 organizations listed here. The evidence for the existence of several is a single document. Many left no records other than the election of trustees, which are given in the books in the Jefferson County Recorders Office. Many are not known to the parent denominations. For example, I sent a list of Methodist Churches to the official Methodist archives at DePauw University. Not only, did the archives not have any of the local churches’ records, it had no knowledge of the existence of these bodies.
These histories are designed as thumbnail sketches that try to state when congregations began and where they were located. I have not attempted to determine when all extinct churches went out of existence (although there are some churches about which that information is available to me.) Additions and corrections to this list are welcomed. Also welcomed are any alternate names for organizations mentioned here. Compilation has been made difficult by records that often don’t state the location or denomination of a church. Sometimes records conflict and traditions given in local histories about the founding dates of churches are wrong. There are alternate church names and sometimes churches changed both names and locations. There are also several instances of churches with similar names.
Among the sources listed here, the Deed, Mortgage, and Miscellaneous Records are housed in the Jefferson County Recorder’s office. Probate and Will records are in the Circuit Court Clerk’s office. I have concentrated on the nineteenth century primarily because I began with the organization of Jefferson County and am working forward into the early twentieth century. Many churches which were organized in the Twentieth Century are simply given by name and street address. I have also used church denominational names as given in records in the 1800s. Methodist Churches were Methodist Episcopal churches, many of which became United Methodist Churches. Similarly many Associate Reformed Presbyterian Churches became United Presbyterian.
Book or Document
All official document references are listed by book type, (probate etc.) Book designation (by letter, such as A, B, etc. or number, 1, 2, 3, etc) and page.
Biographical & Historical Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Chicago. 1889.
Coffee Creek History.
History of the Coffee Creek Baptist Association.
Historic Sites Inventory.
Jefferson County: Interim Report. Indiana Historical Sites and Structures Inventory. November1989.
Miscellaneous Record Book (in Jefferson County Recorder’s Office)
Mortgage Record (in Jefferson County Recorder's Office)
Probate Record Books (in Jefferson County Circuit Court Clerk's Office)
Southeastern Indiana's Underground Railroad Routes and Operations, Diane
Perrine Coon, April 1, 2001.
1876 Plat Map.
This edition of a plat map of Jefferson County was reprinted by the Jefferson County Historical Society, which estimated its date. Certain facts on
the map suggest it was issued late in 1877 or in 1878.
Lori Hoffman's Web page of Ripley County records was also used for its list of
Methodist Circuit ministers.
Advent Christian Church. (Graham Twp.) This congregation was organized at the Pleasant Valley School House. It acquired a half acre in the NW1/4 SE1/4 Sec. 34 Twp. 4N Range 8E from Irene Baxter on Dec. 8, 1906. (DB 34 p. 48) This section is in southeastern Graham Township, bordering Republican Township. This is probably the same congregation listed in Deed Book 36 p. 614 as trustees of the Second Advent Church of God, who accepted a lot, “now occupied by a house of worship” in a deed from George and Lizzie Wallace. The trustees were Achilles Ford, Moses Lewis (?), Albert Robert, and William Earhart. The lot was on the Madison Smyrna & Graham Gravel Road.
African Baptist Church. (Madison) See St. Paul’s Second Baptist and Second Baptist.
African Methodist Episcopal. (Madison). On May 20, 1847, the trustees were listed as named as David Johnson clerk, Griffith Booth, George Dickson, William Grinsall or Ginall, and George T. Loudon? (MR 1847-48 p. 84) The minister was William Douglas. The 1859/60 Madison directory refers to a Methodist Episcopal Church (colored) as the Walnut Street Church on Walnut above 5th Street. The minister was the Rev. Peter Booth. The 1887/88 directory locates it at 309 E. Fifth with Samuel Burrell as pastor. This church is distinguished from the Ebenezer Methodist church, as both the Ebenezer Church and AME Church are listed in the same directory. This could be the Bethel AME noted below. UGRR says the AME denomination was more radical in its anti-slavery views than were the traditional Black Methodist bodies. The church building, on the north side of Fifth Street between Walnut and what was then Main (now Jefferson), still stands.
Anti-Slavery Baptist Church. (Lancaster Twp.) See College Hill Baptist.
Apostolic Life Tabernacle Church. (Madison) 1542 Clifty Drive
Armstrong Methodist Chapel (Milton Twp.) A History of Milton Township, written for the Jefferson County Historical Society, includes a sketch of the Armstrong Chapel, which was founded in 1832 or 1843 and took its name from Capt. John Armstrong, who donated ground and money for its establishment. The earliest official record comes on Feb. 13, 1848 when the church elected James Brooks, David Cain, and William Heath as trustees (MR 1847-1849 p. 270.) The church was probably located in Section 7 Twp. 3N Range 11E, which adjoins the Ohio River and which is the location of the Armstrong Cemetery and Armstrong Landing. John Armstrong, ca. 1796-1880, is buried there. This church was made inaccessible by a shift in the Ohio River and its members founded Morris Chapel (in either 1856 or 1859, one account notes both.) Both James Brooks, and William Heath, who had been members at Armstrong Chapel, were members at Morris Chapel. Armstrong Chapel was abandoned by 1859 when the river cut off road access.
Bee Camp Baptist. (Madison Twp.) The church first appears in the 1872 minutes of the Madison Baptist Association with Brother P.M. Immel (sic Imel) as a messenger, reporting 15 members. No deeds involving sale of land to the church trustees have been found. The Church is shown in the 1879 minutes with William E. Hammell and wife as messengers and 25 members reported. The church vanishes from the association records by 1883.
Bethany Baptist. (Graham Twp.) Bethany joined the Coffee Creek Baptist Association in 1839. A building had been erected by 1840 when the Coffee Creek Association agreed to send representatives to a meeting at Bethany meetinghouse on the third Saturday, August 1841. John and Jane Swincher sold land for “the exclusive use for a burying ground” to the trustees of the Baptist Church at Bethany on June 17, 1845. (DB W p. 249) The land was in the SE1/4 Sec. 19 Twp. 4N Range 8E. Another building was erected in 1884 according to the Historic Sites Inventory for Jefferson County. Trustees elected on Apr. 10, 1897 were Job Tobias, Irwin McCaslin, and Charles H. Seburn. (Misc. 3 p. 209) The church building is western Graham Township, near Lake Hardy and the Scott County border.
Bethel AME. (Madison) Bethel elected trustees on May 23, 1898 in Madison. Those selected were Austin Thornton, Ernest Johnson, Henry Davenport, Ike Johnson, and James Tate. G.W. Shelton was secretary and Thomas McNutt signed as RJC. This may be the same body as the African Methodist Church mentioned earlier. Welcome anyone with additional knowledge about the relationship.
Bethel Church (Presbyterian). (Hanover Twp.) This church grew out of the Carmel Presbyterian Church, according to a newspaper account, which says the church was formed in 1823 by disaffected Carmel members. Another account gives a May 28, 1828 date and lists members as Ann Shannon, Margaret Shannon, Mrs. Gray, John Swan, Mrs. Janet Swan, William McCasland and wife, Michael Kinnear and wife, James Patterson, George Shannon Jr. and wife, Andrew Swan and wife, Thomas Baird and wife, John Swan and wife, and Thomas Swan and wife, George Reed and Jane, William Gray?, Jams Swan, George Swan, and Thomas Gray Sr. The newspaper account reports a church was completed in 1830. George Shannon and Thomas Shannon deeded a lot to the trustees of this church on June 14, 1837. (DB N p. 420) The members are described as Associate Reformed Presbyterian. The land was in Section 24 Twp. 3N Range 9E. Trustees named in the deed are James Patterson, William A. Wallace, and John Swan. The deed says the land conveys a lot of ground “including the meeting house and graveyard.” The old Bethel Cemetery is located near the center of Section 24, south of Hanover. The church is shown on the 1900 Jefferson County Plat map. I do not have a date of its dissolution.
Bethel Meeting House. (Shelby Twp.) An older name for Jefferson Presbyterian Church.
Bethel Meeting House. (Saluda Twp.) This United Brethren congregation was in existence by Feb. 29, 1828 when Joseph Miller of Shelby County, Ky., deeded land to the trustees for $5. (DB 4 p. 437) The land was in the NE1/4 Sec. 6 Twp. 2N Range 9E and included a meeting house. The description places it northeast of Paynesville, on the Ohio River. The trustees were Frederick Redenbaugh, George Redenbaugh, and John McNealy. However, the deed was not recorded until Oct. 9, 1849. I have not found any other records and the 1876 plat map does not show a church in this location.
Bible Baptist. (Lancaster) Modern church, Deputy address.
Big Creek Methodist. (Monroe Twp.) Nathan and Eliza Yost sold one acre to the trustees on Dec. 5, 1842 for $4. (DB S p. 193 and U p. 545) This land was in the SE1/4 Sec. 9 Twp. 5N Range 10E. The trustees were Thomas Yost, William C. Prentice, Ebenezer Large, William Baxter, and John Armstrong. On August 1, 1854, Benjamin Scott was appointed to fill a vacancy at Big Creek M.E. Church, part of the Canaan Circuit. (MR 5 p. 303) The church elected James A. McGee, John H. Fish, Jesse Murphy, Joseph Buhmiller, and Otis E. Bucknell as trustees on June 5, 1896. (Misc. 3 p. 213) The John Paul Chapter DAR transcriptions of Jefferson County cemeteries states an old stone church was built at the original burial site by John Yost. The cemetery was moved to the east side of Michigan Road, just south of Fairmount Cemetery in 1941 when the land it occupied was taken for the former Jefferson Proving Ground.
Broadway Second Baptist. (Madison) Broadway. UGRR cites this church as a descendant of St. Paul’s Second Baptist Church. The Second Baptist Church was located at 613 Broadway, according to the 1887/88 city directory. Since the Modern church is at 615, the 1887 number may be a typo.
Brooksburg Baptist. (Milton Twp.) The Brooksburg Baptist Church was admitted to the Long Run Association with 36 members at an association meeting held Aug. 8 and 9, 1894 at Grant's Creek Church. Church messengers were A. L. Banta, Frank Adams, Frank Schnaitter, Martin Bear, Jerry Brook, Tobitha Sample, and the Rev. G.H. Jayne. Baptists in Brooksburg probably attended Union Baptist Church at Lamb and perhaps Long Run before this church's founding. This church is active.
Brooksburg Methodist. (Milton Twp.) The Brooksburg Methodist Church was dedicated Oct. 25, 1891. Twenty-six members came from Morris Chapel, according to a history by Louise McKay Weber. The first board of stewards was listed as Theodore L. McKay, William Wright, Dr. Edward Tevis, Andrew J. Larimore, and Isaiah Brooks. The first minister was A.R. Beach with Rev. George W. Gelvin as presiding elder. A report written by Elizabeth Alves McKay as a five-year report after the dedication stated that the church had 100 full members and eight probationers. The church elected trustees for a parsonage on May 30, 1907. These were Noah B. Woodfill, Frank McKay, Thomas H. Oliver, Theodore S. McKay, Isaac Monroe, Ward Joyce, and William Jester.
Brooksburg Wesleyan Methodist. (Milton Twp.) This body elected trustees on Sept. 30, 1925 (Misc. 5 p. 414) These were Ida Tevis, Grace Christman, Eva Larimore, and Stacy Brooks. Since modern telephone books shown both Brooksburg Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist, I am assuming these are separate congregations.
Brushy Fork Baptist. (Shelby Twp./Pleasant Twp.) Located on the Jefferson/Switzerland County line, Brushy Fork was founded in 1818 by Joseph McIntosh, Stephen Ellis Sr. and Rebecca Ellis, William [probably an error in the original, more likely this is Wilson Benefiel, William’s brother] and Elizabeth Benefield, Henry and Nancy Banta, and Polly Green. Stephen and Rebecca Ellis sold land on the Switzerland-Jefferson Co. border to trustees, Henry Banta, John Gillan (probably sic, Gilliland) and David Lentz for $1 on Aug. 10, 1825 (DB D p. 251.) The first church, completed that year, was made from hewn logs measuring 24 by 30 feet, and was in Jefferson County. The next building, constructed in what is now the graveyard in 1845, was also in Jefferson County. This building was sold in 1865 to a businessman at Vevay who moved it. A brick building was built in 1866. The church joined the Silver Creek Baptist Association in August 1818. It later joined the Laughery Association and then the Madison Association in 1844. Brushy Fork became a member of the Long Run Association in 1851 with 104 members. The modern church building is in Switzerland County. The county line runs through the cemetery.
Bryantsburg Presbyterian. (Monroe Twp.) This short-lived church probably formed with the blessing of the nearby Monroe Presbyterian Church as on Sept. 22, 1854, the trustees of Monroe sold land in the E1/2 SW1/4 Sec. 11 Twp. 5N 10E to the Bryantsburg trustees, Andrew Woodfill, Robert McGee, and John Nichols. (DB 11 p. 50), all of whom had been Monroe members. The sale document cites an earlier deed from John Todd to the trustees on Sept. 22, 1852 and mentions that the lot is one on which the Bryantsburg Church “now stands.” There was another deed from Monroe to Bryantsburg on Nov. 2, 1854 (DB 11 p. 450.) Trustees elected on Aug. 5, 1854 were William McGee, John Nichols, and Andrew Woodfill as trustees. (MR 5 p 287) Robert Kinnear was chairman and O.J. Hamilton was secretary. The final reference, on April 30, 1867, ends its brief history, when, the trustees, (DB 28 p. 308) John Nichols, Andrew Woodfill, and William McCoy, deceased, sold one acre in the E1/2 W1/2 SE1/4 Section 11 Twp. 5N 10E, which contained property known as the Bryantsburg Presbyterian Meeting House to Josiah Basset.
Caledonia Presbyterian. (Shelby Twp./Pleasant Twp.) The current church building is in Switzerland County with a portion of the cemetery in Jefferson. A predecessor to the Caledonia Presbyterian Church was built in 1818, according to a church history written by John Gullion This account says that the first log building was erected in "1818 on a hillside just north of the present building." It was built on the Samuel Culbertson farm in Switzerland County. This church operated until 1825, according to a history written by Howard Schmunck, son of Rev. F.W. Schmunck, the Caledonia pastor from 1907 to1924.
The Caledonia Church was formed officially on Aug. 7, 1827 when the trustees were elected for what was at first named the "Caledonian Church." The chairman was John Sharp, while Andrew Morton was secretary. They were elected "preparatory to the building of a house of worship" (DB D p. 546.) The founding trustees were Walter Scott, William Wilkie, John Culbertson, Samuel Welch, and Morton. Land for the church and cemetery was deeded by John Culbertson and wife Margaret to the trustees on Aug. 16, 1827 in Jefferson County and also from his brother John Culbertson in Jefferson County (DB E p. 19) and from brother James (DB D p. 547) and Samuel Culbertson in Switzerland County. (Switzerland Co. Deed Book C p. 380.) The first building was a stone structure facing south completed in 1828 on the acre purchased from John Culbertson. In 1872, a brick building facing east was constructed on the same acre, just north of the stone building. The present building (2002) was dedicated on June 12, 1921. The church and cemetery are located on Caledonia Road, less than a mile from S.R. 129 and about two miles northwest of Moorefield.
Calvary Southern Baptist. (Madison) Located at 2632 Michigan Road
Calvary Wesleyan. (Madison) Located at 1627 Clifty Drive
Canaan Mennonite Chapel. (Shelby Twp.)
Canaan Methodist. (Shelby Twp.) According to the History of Shelby Township by the Jefferson County Historical Society, this church was organized about 1830 by John Cain, William C. Sullivan, John Warfield, and Marscia Cook and their wives, with the cemetery donated by Amos Simpers. The earliest gravestone at the cemetery is that of Susannah Littlejohn, who died Jan. 28, 1829, age 9 years 11 months (Per a transcription by the John Paul Chapter DAR). This may indicate the land for the cemetery belonged to the Littlejohns before the church’s formation. The earlier official record comes on April 22, 1834, when Amos Simpers deeded the land to the trustees: Moody J. Pulliam, Hinman Harris, Jesse Lott, Absalom Spencer, and Richard Mitchell. The land was located in part of the NE1/4 Section 21 Twp. 5N Range 11E (DB J p. 46.) The Historical Society account says that E.B. Bishop related that there were three buildings: one of logs about a quarter mile northeast of the final church; the second, built in the 1840s and the final church, built about 1868, the latter two once stood on a site next to the cemetery. The modern church building, which sat just northwest of S.R. 62, was razed in the late 1950s. The Indian-Kentuck Baptist Church now owns the cemetery.
Carmel Methodist. (Graham Twp.) On Dec. 28, 1854, William and Salena Tool (Jool?) sold an acre in the SW1/4 Sec.18 Twp. 4N Range 8E (starting at the SW corner) to Methodist trustees for $1. (DB 11 p. 238.) The trustees were Samuel G. Franston (?), John Gudgel, Daniel Whitsett, Ralph Whitsett, and Wesley Stewart. There is a cemetery in Section 18 on what was noted as Hansell’s farm in Graham Township. The 1941 John Paul DAR cemetery transcriptions note, “there was a Methodist church here at one time-called Mt. Carmel, later moved to Mt. Gilead, Scott Co.” Several Whitsetts and Stewarts are buried in the cemetery, so it seems likely that the land sold in 1854 was for this church.
Carmel Presbyterian. (Hanover Twp.) One newspaper account dates this church from 1812. However, this may not be true. One account says that Judge Williamson McKee Dunn, who lived at Hanover, joined the United Presbyterian Church at Charlestown, which at twenty-five miles away was reportedly the closest church until the Hanover Presbyterian Church was formed in 1820. The Historic Sites Inventory gives dates for this church as 1824 to 1913. The first members are given as George Shannon Sr., Ann Shannon, John Anderson, Samuel Ledgerwood, John Swan, Jennet Swan, Thomas Taylor, Mary Taylor, William Hay, Jane Hay, Benjamin Miller, Sarah Miller, William Anderson Sr., and Catherine Anderson. The Historic Sites Inventory gives dates for this church as 1824 to 1913. The church was located in Section 15, Town 3N, Range 9E.
The newspaper account says the first building was constructed in 1816 on the farm of James Mathews and that an addition was built it 1839, and the final brick building in 1853. This account also notes there was frequent preaching at the house of Samuel Ledgerwood on Ryker’s Ridge (quite a trip for those days.) The church drew a significant part of its membership from the local Scottish immigrant population. Although early records show this as an Associate Reformed Presbyterian church, it was a United Presbyterian body by 1887 as shown by the Madison directory that year. The church cemetery is still used. I have not yet located the deed for the land for this church or cemetery.
Center Baptist. Center Baptist Church joined the Coffee Creek Baptist Association in 1829 when its membership was given as 13. No information (including its location) was provided by association records except that the church's messengers included minister, Joseph McIntosh, and Wilson Buchanan. Since McIntosh also was minister at Brushy Fork, it was probably on Hicks Ridge where the Center Grove Baptist Church later formed. That body was sold land by Wilson Buchanan's son-in-law and daughter James and Emeline Risk.
On the third Saturday in March 1829, Brushy Fork dismissed John Gillum and wife, John Peak, William Roberson, Sally Lockridge, and Lettice Johnson. The next motion reports "a few lines by the hand of brother Gillum requesting some aid to set with them in council on the third Friday in April 1829." This is typical of other requests for aid in forming a new church, although one is not mentioned here. But since Peak and Roberson/Robertson were messengers from Center, my judgment is that all of these individuals left to form Center as a new church. Records of Brushy Fork Baptist Church also show that on the 3rd Saturday of June 1829, "the church has granted liberty to open a dore (sic) for the reception of members at Wilson Buckhanan's and Pulliam's Schoolhouse at any time Brother Blankenship and some of the members thinks proper." This is
probably related to Center (Brother Blankenship was the Rev. William Blankenship.)
In 1830, the church reported seventeen members with Buchanan and McIntosh again its messengers. In 1831, Center sent Robertson, Peak, and McIntosh as messengers and reported eighteen members. The Church is not listed in the 1832 Coffee Creek minutes. It's possible the church failed in 1832 as William Roberson and wife Polly were received by letter at Brushy
Fork on the third Saturday in July 1832.
Center Grove Baptist. (Shelby Twp.) Center Grove was the older name for Hicks Ridge, in the center of the northern part of Shelby Twp. This church was founded as a Separate Baptist Church (a denomination that still exists) and probably succeeded the Center Baptist Church. A letter by John E. Harper, dated “Canaan, May 14, 1922" in the records of the Jefferson County Library, gives the date of the building of the Center Grove Baptist Church as 1859. On April 11, 1860, James and Emeline Risk (daughter of Wilson Buchanan, himself a messenger from the Center Baptist Church) sold a half-acre tract to the Center Grove trustees, William Campbell, William H. Whitham, and James M. Campbell, in the NW1/4 SW1/4 Section 1 Twp. 5N Range 11E. (DB 18 p. 170.) At the end of the century, it switched denominations, probably because of missionary work from the Regular Baptists. On the second Saturday in November 1891, Brushy Fork Baptist Church moved that the church “extends an arm of her chu work over at Center Grove and when our pastor preaches there he can open the doors for the reception of members there to our chu.” Center Grove became the Hicks Baptist Church, a regular Baptist church on Dec. 29, 1894, according to the Harper letter.
Center Presbyterian. (Madison Twp.) Two deeds prove the existence of the Center Presbyterian congregation and place the proposed site for the meeting house near the meeting of Dry Fork and the West Fork of the Indian-Kentuck Creek just below China. Both deeds are dated Feb. 4, 1833 and both describe a tract of 1 acre 32 perches, in the SE1/4 Section 5 Twp. 4N Range 11E (DB I p. 266) presumably the same tract. John and Mary Quinn are the grantors in one deed, while John and Susannah Lee sold their interest through the other. The deeds list the church trustees as James Hamilton, John J. Ryker, Robert Martin and Abraham Ryker. This church may have survived until 1848. The membership lists from the session records of the Monroe Presbyterian Church show that Andrew Woodfill, Mary S. Woodfill, and Martha J. Woodfill were received by “Letter from Central.” There are no dates next to these three names, but the minutes show that the Woodfills were received on Sept. 31, 1848. (Mary was a sister to Abraham Ryker.) More tellingly, the Monroe records show that in April 1842, Mr. James Brownlee was “ordained Pastor of this and Central Church.” Given the transportation of those days, Central Church could not have been far away from Monroe. Given the Ryker connections, it seems likely Central is Center. It is possible that the Demaree Cemetery (No stones remain) on the east side of the China-Manville Road, just a few hundred feet north, was associated with this church,
Chelsea Church of God. (Saluda Twp.)
Christ Apostle Ministries. (Madison) 935 Cross Ave. The phone book also shows River of Life, Church of God at this address.
Christs’ Church Episcopal. (Madison). A group of citizens met in July 1835 to organize a church, resulting in the establishment of Christ’s Church. According to the church’s Web page, the cornerstone was laid on Oct. 31, 1838 and the building was consecrated on Feb. 8, 1850. Horatio J. and Harriett Olcutt of Cherry Valley, N.Y., sold lot 84 on the original survey of Madison to the trustees of Christs Church for $600. The land was on Second Street. George Leonard, Isaac C. Lea, John McIntire, James Siddall, and Benjamin Brushfield, were identified as wardens and vestrymen. Trustees elected on May 10, 1847 were Benjamin Brushfield, James Seddall, Major J. Hass, and G.W. Leonard. (MR 1847/48 p. 82.) The Historic Sites Inventory says the cornerstone of the existing building was laid in 1848 and the building was dedicated in 1850. Elected Apr. 9, 1849 were George W. Leonard, Isaac C. Lea, James Siddell, Benjamin Brushfield, James Henderson, Joseph W. Moore, and Milton Gregg. (MR 1849/50 p. 40) The building is located at 506 Mulberry Street.
Centenary Methodist. (Madison). This body apparently represents an unsuccessful merger between Wesley Chapel and St. John’s Methodist, as I have found no other references to it. The deed (DB 27 p. 447), dated Oct. 20, 1866 notes the two congregations desire to unite and form a new congregation. Trustees for Wesley Chapel were James M. Green and Thomas H. Harris. St. John’s trustees were William C. McLelland, Theodore O. Christopher, and David Phillips.
Christ Apostolic Ministries. (Madison) 935 Cross Ave.
Christ Temple Church Apostolic Tabernacle Faith. (Madison) 420 East 1st
Christian Science. (Madison) 425 Madison
Church of Bible Covenant. (Madison)
Church of Christ. (Madison) West and Third Street
Church of Christ . (Madison) 1630 Bear Street.
Church of Christ at Madison. (Madison) 1797 N. Old Route 62
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Madison) 1113 Michigan Road
College Hill Baptist. (Lancaster Twp.) George S. Cottman’s history of Lancaster Township states this body formed in 1846. It was founded on Neal’s Creek, and some accounts have it as the Neal’s Creek Anti-Slavery Baptist Church. Cottman says it moved to the town of Lancaster, probably in 1847. The earliest official report of this church comes on Jan. 12, 1850, when the Anti-Slavery Regular Baptist Education Society met at the Anti-Slavery Baptist Church at College Hill. The officers were H.H. Hicklin chairman, J.C. Thompson, sec. pro tem. Also attending were James Hays, Isaiah Walton, and John C. Thompson. (MR 1849/50 p. 369) On June 8, (p. 622) the society elected J.H. Tibbetts, Isaiah Walton, and Lemuel Record, as trustees for one year, with J.C. Thompson as clerk. An unusual move occurred on Nov. 12, 1855. The trustees of the church, Lemuel Record and John H. Tibbetts, approved selling the house of worship to James Nelson for $150, with proceeds to be used in furnishing the college chapel, which was to be used for a house of worship. This refers to the Eleutherian College, which provided education to blacks. The college trustees were Thomas Cravens, Samuel Tibbetts Sr., Samuel Tibbetts, Record, John H. Tibbetts, and J.C. Tibbetts. (MR 9 p. 175) The church was not a member of the Madison Baptist Association until 1862 (the 1861 minutes were not available to me). The 1862 minutes report the church had a deep interest in the Eleutherian College, along with a Sabbath school and Bible class.
It’s not known why the church was not previously a member of the association, although sentiment officially favoring abolition of slavery does not emerge clearly from the Madison Association until the Civil War. The association also started taking a more active role in the college. In 1863, the association recommended the Eleutherian College, along with some other institutions “to patronage and support of all our Baptist families.” The language is stronger in 1866 when it resolved “That the Association encourage and sustain the only institution under the control of the Baptist denomination in this part of the state.” The Madison Association minutes for 1879, made on Sept. 10, 1879, report that College Hill sent no report or messenger to the annual meeting. The association adopted a resolution that “we extend to Brother J.G. Craven our sympathy in his efforts to build up a school and revive the interest of the church in their midst at College Hill, believing that it will be to our interests as a denomination to make it success.” The church cemetery is located in Section 33 Twp. 5N Range 9E.
Concord Methodist. (Saluda Twp.) The 1855 minutes of the Southeastern Indiana Methodist Conference show Concord as part of the Hanover Circuit. This may have been the church associated with the Marble Hill Cemetery since Concord was a town laid out on the Ohio River. See Marble Hill Methodist.
Cornerstone Baptist. (Hanover) 221 Kuntz Road
Crooked Creek Baptist. (Madison) The Crooked Creek Baptist Church, the second Baptist church in Indiana, was formed March 28, 1807, according to the 1869 minutes of the Madison Baptist Association. It joined of the Silver Creek Baptist Association in the fall of 1807. Crooked Creek was the parent of many churches in the county. Crooked Creek's first fifteen members came from four families, who came from Woodford County, Ky., in the autumn of 1806. The members are listed as Elder Jesse Vawter and wife, John Vawter and wife, William Vawter, William Underwood and wife, his mother and two sisters, James Edwards and wife, and Mr. Jackson and his family. Jesse Vawter was a messenger from the North Fork Baptist Church in Kentucky when the Elkhorn Association met in August 1806. A brief history on microfilm at the Madison-Jefferson County public library also lists Ralph and Catherine Griffin. John Vawter's recollections, reprinted in a Madison newspaper, also lists Ralph Griffin as a member of the Baptist group that came to Madison in the fall of 1806.
The 1869 Madison Baptist Association minutes, which give a history of the Madison Baptist Church, report that the Crooked Creek church building, a log meeting house, was constructed in the fall of 1807 "on the hill, east of the Michigan Road, near the present site of the North Madison cemetery (presumably modern Fairmount Cemetery) and here regular worship was held for about five years." This church changed its location and changed its name to Mt. Pleasant in 1812. See section on Mt. Pleasant Baptist Church.
Deputy Methodist. (Graham Twp.) John Wiggams’ will of Aug. 30, 1881 gives $500 for the organization of a Methodist Church. On Apr. 24, 1883, Philander Robertson and Nancy sold Lots 106, 107, and 108 in Robertson’s Addition to the Deputy Methodist Church. (DB 49 p. 449) The 1887 Jefferson County Directory shows a Methodist Episcopal Church in Deputy. On May 4, 1881, John and Elizabeth Wiggam sold land in the SW1/4 Sec. 8 Twp. 4N Range 8E to the trustees. The tract included the graveyard formerly known as Deputy’s burying ground. (DB 46 p. 487.) The Historic Sites Inventory says the current building was constructed in 1883. Wiggam is buried in the Wiggams Cemetery north of Deputy. Deputy United Methodist is located at 14266 W. Mulberry, Deputy.
Dupont Baptist. (Lancaster Twp.) The Dupont Baptist church joined the Madison Baptist Association in 1846, according to that body’s records. The Historic Sites Inventory says that this church was a splinter group that split from the Middle Fork Baptist because the latter group was aligned with the Knights of the Golden Circle, which sympathized with the South. (But Web sites on the subject show that the Knights were not formed until 1854.) Francis Tilton sold lot 28 in Tilton’s Addition of Dupont to the trustees for $1 on March 29, 1848. (DB 3 p. 169) The trustees were Simeon L. Reynolds, James G. McCaslin, and William Nicholson. The 1887 directory lists Rev. John E. McCoy as pastor. The Historic Sites Inventory says the current building was constructed in 1900.
Dupont Methodist. (Lancaster Twp.) The church cemetery is in Section 15 Twp. 5N Range 9E south of Dupont. The Historic Sites Inventory states that Mt. Carmel Methodist folded into this body in 1851, but does not give an indication of the date the Dupont church was founded. In 1853, Dupont Methodist Church had members who contributed funds to the Southeast Indiana Methodist Conference, as shown by that body’s records. The 1887 Jefferson County directory shows Rev. Adam Scott as pastor of the M.E. Church in Dupont. The Inventory says the current building was erected in 1908.
Dupont Presbyterian. (Lancaster Twp.) This Old School Presbyterian congregation (identified as such in the deed) sold a lot to Matthew Markland on Oct. 9, 1863, (DB 22 p. 267) It is possible this deed ended its existence. It existed as early as June 9, 1850, when Sarah Kanier (probably Kinnear) was dismissed from Monroe Presbyterian to Dupont.
Eagle Hollow Baptist Mission. (Madison) The 1867 Madison city directory identifies this mission, presumably limited to a Sabbath school, as located east of the city. No additional location was given, but we would have to assume it was near Eagle Hollow.
Ebenezer Methodist. (Republican Twp.) Amos Chitwood and wife, Prudence, deeded an acre in the NE1/4 Sec. 8 Twp. 3N Range 9E on March 3, 1841. (DB V p. 507) The land conveyed included the “Ebenezer Meeting House and burying ground.” The trustees were Thomas Jones, Benjamin Allen, and William Tull. This tract is near the Slippery Point Cemetery, which is also in Section 8. Thomas Jones, William Tull, and Amos Chitwood are buried in the cemetery. Also buried in this cemetery is Margaret Jones, Oct. 11, 1811-Sept. 7, 1873, whose inscription identifies her as the daughter of the Rev. C. Ruddell and wife of Rev. Thomas Jones. Thomas S. Jones died July 7, 18_3, age 85 years. The 1941 cemetery transcriptions of the John Paul Chapter DAR list a cemetery on what was then Lloyd’s farm in Section 30 Twp. 4N Range 9E. The transcription gives the following notes: “An abandoned graveyard near Wilson's Cave. Said to have had a church there at one time called Ebenezer.” This account says the land was entered by Daniel Lattimore and sold by him to Abraham McCrory.
Ebenezer Methodist. (Madison.) The UGRR says this church was founded by the Rev. Peter Booth and that members of the former Walnut Street Church joined this body. The 1872/73 Madison directory lists Ebenezer Methodist on Poplar street, its current location. The building shows a date of 1878 over the front door. Ebenezer Methodist is a black congregation. The trustees, James Burke, Archibald Taylor, William Bolwin (Boulding), Peter Booth, and Dennis Johnson to Harry Kyle on July 18, 1871. The trustees purchased the lot from Ebenezer on Nov. 28, 1866, in a deed that recognized the churches transition from being a regular Methodist Episcopal church to becoming and African Methodist Episcopal Church. (DB 32 p. 438) On Jan. 4,1896, the church named as trustees, Dennis Johnson, Isaac Wilson, and Joseph Reiston. E.J. Gilliam was presiding elder and Rev. J.H. Hargrove, P.C. (presiding clerk?). Emma J. Williams was secretary. (Misc. 3 p. 97).
Elizabeth Baptist. (Saluda Twp.) Formed in August 1827, Elizabeth joined the Coffee Creek Baptist Association that month. In 1828, it had 19 members and its messengers were James Glover, John T. West, and Joshua Rose. The probate record of John T. West in 1833 notes that he donated 1.25 acres in Saluda for a church and burying grounds. (DB 9 p. 460) May 1842??. It seems likely this was Elizabeth. A building had been erected by September 1832 when Thomas Hill Jr. and John Vawter of the Coffee Creek Association agreed to attend a meeting at the Elizabeth meeting house. The church elected William Montgomery, Achilles West, and Jeremiah Smock as trustees on Apr. 13, 1850. Thomas Montgomery was Clerk. (MR 1849/50 p. 531.)
Evangelist Mission. (Madison.) The only record found to date is the organization of this congregation on Nov. 2, 1895. Thirteen members met at the house of Mrs. Nannie Taylor at 1405 Presbyterian Avenue. The Rev. J.B. Willcoxen, a traveling missionary for the church’s first district, was present, as was Rev. Beatty Overstreet, pastor in charge. Trustees elected were James Tyree, three years, Raleigh French, two years, John Smith, one year. French was named corresponding secretary and Smith, treasurer. Rev. William Grant was pastor in charge. (MR 3 p. 42.) It is not known why there were two pastors in charge.
Faith Alliance. (Madison) Located at 2408 Michigan Road or 2408 Cherry
Faith Baptist. (Madison)
Faith Covenant. (Madison) This church occupies the building at 237 E. Third, near Jefferson, that was originally the home of the German Methodist Church.
Faith Lutheran, Missouri Synod. (Madison) 2924 Michigan Road
First Assembly of God. (Madison) 1636 Clifty Drive
First Church of God. (Madison) Listed at 1805 Orchard Street.
Flat Bottom. Alternate name for Indian-Kentuck Baptist Church.
Fulton Baptist Mission. (Madison) The 1867 Madison city directory identifies this mission, presumably limited to a Sabbath school, as located in Fulton, a town that was located east of Ferry Street, on the banks of the Ohio River. W.A. Siddell was listed as superintendent.
Georgetown Baptist Mission. (Madison) The 1867 Madison city directory identifies this mission, presumably limited to a Sabbath school, as located on the north end of Walnut in what is known as the Georgetown section of Madison. This area was the new Woodburn addition. Before the Civil War, it was home to some free blacks.
German Evangelical Lutheran Church. (Madison.) Henry Sharpe bequeathed his property to this church in a will written on Oct.13, 1841. (Book E-510.) This is probably the Evangelical Lutheran and Reformed Church mentioned on Jan. 2, 1848. (MR 1847/48 p. 229) The trustees were Daniel Scheiner, Phillip Ganschier, and Charles Schlisser. Fraenck Johnies was secretary. The 1859/60 Madison City directory describes the German Lutheran Church as being on the northeast corner of Main Cross (modern Main Street) and Church. Rev. Louis Krim was the pastor at this time. The 1887/88 directory lists the German Reformed Lutheran Church on the north east corner of Main and East. On Apr. 4, 1872, The trustees acquired lot 22 in the East addition of Madison from Trinity Methodist Church. (DB 36 p. 320) This included the building that had been occupied by St. John’s Methodist Church. The sale was occasioned by Trinity and St. John’s merger.
German Methodist. (Madison) Methodist records show that there was an Indiana German Mission in the Madison District in1839. In 1840, John Kisling and Martin Hofer were the ministers charged with this mission (although not simultaneously). So it seems likely that German Methodist churches in the area stem from this activity. However, it a while until before the founding of a congregation in a building still located on Third Street, near Walnut. The inscription over the door says the church was founded in 1847 and rebuilt in 1876. Trustees elected on Aug.15, 1848 were Christian Buhler, Jacob Grebe, Herman Koelher, Herman Broschling (?), and William Taylor. (MR 1847-48 p. 434.) On Feb. 13, 1855, Stephen Stevens, a commissioner for the court of common pleas sold lots 22-29, belonging to the heirs of John Howes, to the trustees, Jacob Grebe, John C.A. Schram, Stephen Hitz, Christopher Gozell (?), and Adam Hereth. This sale apparently confirmed the sale of the lot by Grebe and Buhler to the trustees on Sept. 23, 1854. The two men had purchased it from Howes on Jan. 30, 1847. The 1859/60 Madison directory places the German Methodist Church on the north side of Third Street between Main and Mulberry. The Rev. Henry G. Lich was pastor at this time. The 1887/88 Madison directory places the church at 217 E. Third St. with Rev. William Schruff as minister. The building is now occupied by the Faith Covenant Church (July 2001) The German Methodist Church later became Grace Methodist.
German Methodist. (Hanover Twp.) Robert and Anna Isabelle Mercer sold a half acre to the trustees for $20. This land was in the NW1/4 Sec. 3 Twp. 3N Range 9E. The trustees were Michael Rouse, Christian Kerner, John Gantzschier, Adam Herod, and Christopher Giese. (DB 15 p. 248). I misplaced the date on this deed.
Good Samaratan. (Madison) 209 E. Main
Grace Baptist. (Madison) 920 Montclair
Grace Fellowship. (Madison) 1416 Bear Street
Grace Methodist. Grace Methodist is the later name of the German Methodist in Madison. On June 10, 1901, the church elected Edward Kampe, J. Cooperider, Joseph Hitz, Emerson Lemen, Fred B. Sauer, J.F. Eile, and Henry Rausch as trustees. (MR 4 p. 347) Trinity United Methodist and Grace merged on Sept. 25, 1905. (MR 5 p. 404)
Graham Methodist. (Graham Twp.) (Not certain of this church’s name) Trustees elected on Aug. 17, 1848 (MR 1847-48 p. 435) at the Union schoolhouse were Samuel Roseberry, John Robinson, and William Roseberry. Milton Roseberry was clerk. Milton S. and Samantha Roseberry sold a half-acre lot in the SW corner of Sec. 13 Tp. 4N Range 8E (DB 7 p. 618) to trustees John Robinson, William Roseberry, and Samuel Roseberry, on June 4, 850. This tract is west of Lick Branch Baptist. The church elected William B. Campbell, Samuel Roseberry, and Samuel Tull on April 11, 1857.
Graysville Methodist. (Madison Twp.) Israel and Harriet Jack deeded a lot in the SE1/4 Section 36 Twp. 4N Range 9E to the trustees of the Graysville Meeting House on Aug. 14, 1837. (DB N p. 517.) This land is also described as being on the Brownstown Road. The trustees were Jonathan Brady, William Bouldin, Charles Jacobs, David Washington, and Jonathan R. Thurman. This land is north of the Antioch Grange and is in a section of Madison Twp. that extends west between Hanover Twp. and Smyrna Twp. On June 7, 1856, Harriet Jack sold one acre in the NE1/4 Twp. 36 (starting at the southwestern Corner) to the trustees of a Methodist Church, for $250. (Book 13 p. 255). The trustees were William Kersey, Nelson Ellington, and John Beatty. This black congregation was active in the Underground Railroad.
Greenbriar Presbyterian. (Hanover Twp.?) This church is referred to as being south and west of Hanover, but also as being in Section 9, by UGRR, which reports it broke away from the New Washington Presbyterian Church. The Greenbriar Cemetery, also known as the Butler Wooley Cemetery, is located in Section 2, Twp. 3N, Range 9E. The earliest death date is July 1821 (per a DAR transcription) and there were a number of other inscriptions from the 1820s and 1830s. The descriptions in UGRR conflict, and this church’s existence in Jefferson County (or maybe Scott?) or possible association with this cemetery needs further investigation.
Hanover Baptist. (Hanover Twp.) Description under construction.
Hanover Baptist. (Hanover Twp.) The trustees acquired a Lot 3 in the addition from Ambrose Hays on June 29, 1880. The congregation is identified as colored. The trustees were John (?) Chandler , Andrew Moore, John Taylor, and William Chandler. (DB 47 p. 414)
Hanover First Christian. (Hanover Twp.) 6192 W. S.R. 56 Description under construction.
Hanover Methodist. (Hanover Twp.) On July 2, 1846, Williamson Dunn and wife, Mary, deeded Lot 6 in the Hanover addition to the trustees of a Methodist Church. (DB 2 p. 75) The trustees were named as Nathan T. Reed, Benjamin Thomas, Davis Thomas, Edwin E. G. Leland, and Basil H. Warfield. Henry Tallbott was the minister in 1849. It is located at 220 E. LaGrange Road, Hanover.
Hanover Colored (Hanover Twp.) This may have been a Presbyterian organization as it is mentioned as an associate church on May 2, 1865 (MR 15 p. 384) William Shearer and D.D. McKee apparently sold land to William Willson Andrew?, William Gibson, Henry Baty, the trustees, who leased the Brick school house on Lot 18 of the south west addition of Hanover for use as a school and church.
Hanover Independent Baptist. (Hanover)
Hanover Presbyterian. (Hanover) The Hanover Presbyterian church was organized on March 4, 1820 by the Rev. Thomas Searle. There were 23 charter members. A church building was constructed in 1822 according to a newspaper account. An account in the Historic Sites Inventory dates the core of the present building on Main Street from 1832. It was originally constructed use by Hanover College. After the college moved to its present location, it deeded the site to the Presbyterian Congregation. The second story was removed in 1871 and additions were made from 1910 to 1954.
Harbert’s Creek. (Madison Twp. ) Harbert’s Creek Baptist joined Silver Creek Baptist Association on Aug. 14, 1818 with 21 members, according to a history published in the 1872 minutes of the Madison Baptist Association. The charter members were William West, Robert Harbert, John Stevens, Wilson Moncrief, James Burns, Thomas Glover, Daniel Stogsdill, John Burns, Abner Moncrief, William Harbert, James Harbert, Mary West, Delilah Burns, Sarah McDonald, Nancy Glover, Lucinda Glover, Fanny Glover, Rebecca Marshall, Jane Harbert, Elizabeth Burns, and Rachel Johnson. The church met in a school house for nine years, then occupied a small brick building, which was not finished for several years. That building was enlarged and used until the summer of 1851 when it was torn down. A building that was 46 by 60 feet was occupied in 1851 and was still in use in 1872. On Sept. 29, 1848, John C. and Mariah Reynolds deeded lot 3 in the town of Wirt for $5. (DB 6 p.437) to trustees, William Moncrief, Abner Moncrief, and George D. Golay. On Jan. 14, 1854, Jonathan B. and Mary A. Ward sold part of the NW1/4 Sec. 7 Twp. 4N Range 10E to the trustees for $100. (DB 6 p. 678) The trustees were Abner Moncrief, B. H.C. Baker, and (first name lost) Henderson.
This church was later renamed Wirt Baptist Church. ?
Hebron Baptist Church. (Monroe Twp.) Hebron was formed by a core of members from Indian-Kentuck Church which gave its permission for eleven members to join it. Another three members had letters from the Mt. Pleasant Church. The church was organized on the fifth Saturday March 1828, in a log schoolhouse on Graham Road with fourteen members present, according to a history in the Madison Baptist Association minutes of 1875. The church was admitted to the Coffee Creek Association in the fall of 1829 and moved to the Madison Association with that body’s formation in 1832. The original members are given as Joseph Lame Sr., James Wildman, Jacob Ryker, Patrick Humphrey, Robert New, Abraham Lewis (a founder of Indian-Kentuck) Jacob Bryant, Sarah Lame, Sarah Humphrey, Mary Lame, Grace Ryker, Ann Lewis, Mary Lewis, and Susannah New. The church met in the schoolhouse until 1836 when the church building was erected.
The church cemetery, formerly a community cemetery, preceded the church by several years. Different accounts say the first burial was in 1814 or 1815. Joseph Lame deeded land in Section 36 Twp. 5N Range 10E to Ruel Custer, Thomas Jameson, Caleb Lame, James Wildman and Jacob Bryant trustees of the burying ground and school house on April 13, 1830 (DB F p. 356.) The church, which is active, is located on the east side of Graham Road.
Hicks Baptist Church. (Shelby Twp.) Hicks Baptist Church developed from the Center Grove Separate Baptist Church. The congregation became regular Baptist church on Dec. 29, 1894 and joined the Madison Baptist Association. On the fifth Saturday in December 1894, Brushy Fork Baptist Church minutes show the following members were dismissed to join Hicks:
Newton Jackson, Oliver Thornton, Emma Whitton, Nina Ferguson, Francis Murmoud (sic), Linnie Vestle (sic), and Ester Ferguson." An article in the Madison Courier of June 12, 1895 mentions dedication of a new Baptist Church at Center Grove. Madison Association records show 68 members at Hicks in 1912. The church burned in the 1970s. It was located in the NW1/4 SW1/4 Section 1 Twp. 5N Range 11E. There are a few surviving members of the church (2002).
Home Methodist Chapel (Milton Twp.) Home Chapel probably took its name from the Home Post Office founded in 1830 on Dry Fork north of Brooksburg. A church was located in the SW1/4 SE1/4 Section 19 Twp. 4N Range 12E. A History of Milton Township written for the Jefferson County Historical Society gives the following account: "In 1831, the Home Church was organized by persons living in the vicinity of Brooksburg. That year they began the erection of a stone meeting house about 2 1/2 miles north of Brooksburg, but before completion it was blown down by a severe storm. Undaunted, the building committee, Mordecai Brooks, Rev. John Tevis, Samuel Joyce, John Brooks, Tinsley Vernon, George M. Rowlinson, Gabe Poor, and Marshall Gray proceeded with another structure, which was finished and dedicated as Home Chapel. In 1875, this building was abandoned because of floods and the backwaters and a new church was built on higher ground. This was dedicated in June 1880 by Presiding Elder Rogers." The church continued in operation until 1965 to 70. There was no church cemetery, but some members were buried at the nearby Joyce Cemetery. The final building, erected in 1885, and now used as a private residence, sites on a lot that fronts on the east side of Dry Fork and Vernon Ridge Road on the other end.
A history by Effie Fagg, read on July 13, 1937 at the rededication of the chapel following a flood. The history says the original stone building stood about in the creek bottom near the existing building, which would have been subject to extreme flooding since the 1937 flood, backwater from the Ohio River, was flooded two feet up on the roof of the new building. Mrs. Fagg reports that Mordecai Brooks provided the land, but I have not found a deed. Mrs. Fagg’s account also says that early records were lost.
Hopewell Baptist. (Smyrna Twp.) Hopewell joined the Silver Creek Association in August. 1824. It was well established by 1839 when it reported a membership of 70 to the Coffee Creek Association. The first record of a building comes in the 1840 Coffee Creek Baptist Association minutes that refer to a meeting to be held in December 1841 at the Hopewell meeting house. John Wallace sold land to the trustees on May 27, 1842. (DB U p. 325) The land is described as being in the SE1/4 Sec. 16 Twp. 4N Range 9E, next to the Center School House. The trustees were Ausborn Lawler, Nathaniel Rector, and John Wallace. Achilles Ford was elected on Nov. 20, 1847 to replace Nathaniel Rector, who is listed as disqualified. (MR 1847-48 p. 169) In a second deed dated Dec. 19, 1847, Wallace and wife Mary sold more land to the trustees (DB 2 p. 705), Ausburn Lawler, Achilles Ford, and John Wallace. On May 15, 1848, William J. Goldsborough sold a lot in Sec. 15 Twp. 4N Range 9E to the trustees “to build a church.” (DB 3 p. 275) (It is not known what happened to the meeting house referred to in 1840.) The trustees were Ausburn Lawler, Achilles Ford, and John Wallace. The modern building is located near the former Volga Post office. The Historic Sites Inventory says the current building dates, located at 3978 N. Thompson Road, Madison, dates from 1841.
Indian-Kentuck Baptist Church (Shelby Twp., Jefferson Co.) This church was founded in 1814 and met at first at homes including those of trustee John McCoy (McKoy). The 1814 date is given in 1870 in a history, written by its minister, the Rev. Robert Stevenson for Madison Baptist Association, and also is given in the 1860 association minutes in a paragraph about member churches. Because of its proximity to events, I give this date more credence than the 1812 founding claimed by the modern church. Indian-Kentuck joined the Silver Creek Baptist Association in August 1815, moved to the Coffee Creek Association when that body was formed in August 1827, then the Madison Association which met for the first time in the fall of 1833. Stevenson’s history gives the founding members as Nicholas Yount, Jacob Short, John Minor, Abraham Lewis and wives.
The original proposed site was in the NE1/4 Section 30 Twp. 5 Range 11E. On Nov. 26, 1819, Samuel and Delia Coplen (Copeland) sold three acres here to Joseph Lame and John McKoy, trustees. This is the Toddy's Branch site on which the trustees authorized construction of a building which was proposed but never finished. The 1870 history said that the church moved in 1820 to a spot 1.5 miles north, donated by John McCoy. This is apparently the one acre that John McKoy and wife, Mary, sold for one dollar to trustees Abraham Lewis, Asa Cox, and Isaac Christie, on Aug. 14, 1822 for the erection of a building for the Indian-Kentuck Baptist Church (DB C p. 524.) The deed description, which starts "at a popular corner on the base line of the South East Quarter section of land No. 17 Twp. 5N Range 11E. In 1844, the church moved 1.5 miles east of the McCoy site and constructed a stone building 40 by 50 feet which was occupied 21 years. The church then rebuilt on the same ground.” One building was destroyed during an April 1974 tornado and was rebuilt.
International Holiness Church. (Monroe Twp.?) Trustees elected on May 2, 1922 were Mrs. Anna R. McCoy, Minnie Blasdell, and Corda O. Adams. (MR 4 p. 236) The location was not given in this record. However, Michael Moore’s map of churches and cemeteries in the former Jefferson Proving Ground, such an International Holiness church was located on the west border of Monroe Township, just south of Big Creek. This was apparently also called the Mt. Monroe Pilgrim Holiness Church, located on Jinesville Road. The Mt. Monroe cemetery was relocated to the east side of Michigan Road, south of Fairmount Cemetery in Madison, when the land was taken for the former Jefferson Proving Ground.
Jefferson Presbyterian Church (Shelby Twp., Jefferson Co.) Originally known as the Bethel meeting house, the Jefferson Presbyterian Church was organized in 1818. The church was also known as Ryker’s Meeting House. An account of the church’s organization was given in the diary of the Rev. Orin Fowler, who was sent by the Connecticut Missionary Society. Fowler's account is related as follows: "Preached in Judge Dunn's barn, Oct. 16th 1818. Rode [sic] five miles to Mr. Bergen's and preached to an interesting congregation. After preaching, proceeded to form a church." Fowler said the original three elders were Christopher Bergen, Samuel Ryker and Jedithan Dodd. A sermon followed their election and Fowler gave the names of the first fourteen members as Christopher Bergen and wife, Anna, Samuel Ryker and wife, Barbara, Jedithan Dodds, Jonathan McCoskey, Peter Ryker and wife, Susannah, John Ryker and wife, Nancy, Theodore VanOsdol, Peter VanCleave, Rachel VanOsdol, and Rachel Weatherford. Soon afterwards, and perhaps the same day from Fowler's account, Mary Benefiel and Hannah Hamilton were admitted. By the next Sabbath, the church had nearly forty communicants. Another account gives the organization date as October 18, and reported that first members included Matthew Hillis, Jacob Ryker, George Benefield, John West, and Robert McLelland.
Land for the church, 1 acre 3 rods and 38 1/4 poles in Section 9 Twp. 5N Range 11E was deeded by Jacob Ryker to Samuel Ryker, William B. Benefiel and John Weatherford, trustees of the Bethel meeting house, on July 1, 1828 (DB E p. 316.) Most Low Dutch families, except for the Rykers, withdrew to form the Pleasant Township Presbyterian Church in 1829, when Wilson’s Creek was established as the boundary between the two congregations. The congregation still meets in a building on the west side of Jefferson Road, just under two miles northwest of Canaan.
Jehovah’s Witnesses. (Madison) 2924 Clifty Drive
Jewish Synagogue. The 1887/88 Madison directory places this congregation at 109 East Third. This group has been extensively written about.
Kent Baptist. (Republican Twp.) Trustees, Henry Jones, James B. Buxton, and John G. Fisher, purchased a lot in Blankenship’s addition from Isaac Earhart on March 15, 1890. (DB 56 p. 578) The church elected Columbus Cavit, George Averrit as trustees on Feb. 24 1917. Katie E. Jones was clerk. (MR 5 p. 10). The modern address is 8034 W. S.R. 256.
Kent Christian. (Republican Twp.) The trustees of the Christian Meeting House on White River purchased land in the NE1/4 Section 5 Twp. 3N Range 9E from Levi and Ellenner Ramsey on Oct. 13, 1839. This deed was not recorded until May 11, 1891. (DB 58 p. 497) The trustees acquired lot 3 in Kent from James Blankenship and wife, Elizabeth, on Sept. 20, 1886. (DB 52 p. 15) The church is still active at 8082 W. S.R. 256. See White River Christian.
Kent Methodist. (Republican Twp.) John R. Woodard and wife, Mary Elizabeth, sold two lots to the trustees on June 19, 1841 for $200. (DB T p. 14) The land is described as being in Sec. 32 Twp. 4N Range 9E in the Village of Ramseys Mill. The trustees were Benjamin Thomas, Nathan Robison, Milton Wiley, and William B. Duffey. Another sale was made by James and Alice Blankenship to the trustees on Dec. 5, 1842, but this land included 12 acres in the SW1/4 Sec. 32 Twp. 4N Range 9. (DB U 216, but indexed as p. 215). The trustees were Nathan Robinson, Ambrose F. White, Washington Willey, Samuel Finical, and Joseph Willey. The tract included 1.5 acres where the “meeting house now stands” on the road from Ramseys Mills to Paris Crossing. On Aug. 26, 1851, the Blankenships sold a lot for $5 in the SE1/4 Sec. 32 to the trustees. It is not clear why this action was taken as it seems to involve the same land. (DB 8 p. 229) The trustees were Milton Wiley, Nathan Robinson, Job Hughes, Calvin Ramsey, William Ramsey, Washington Willey, Stephen Bassett, Donald Jones, and William Wood. On Aug. 6, 1851, the Blankenships executed another deed to the trustees for land in the SE1/4 (DB 8 p. 230) which specifies that they are to erect a house of worship. The trustees were Nathan Robinson, Milton Willey, William Duffey, Benjamin Thomas, and Acquilla Robertson. On April 20, 1853, the trustees sold one acre to Arthur Green. (DB 9 p. 215) In March 1853, James and Elvira Jordan deeded Lots 12, 13, and 14 on Main Street in Kent to the trustees. (DB 9 p. 550.) The trustees were Milton Willey, Nathan Robertson, Job Hughes, Corbin F. Ramsey, William Ramsey, Washington Ramsey, Stephen Bassett, Daniel Jones, and William Woods. On Nov. 8, 1853, they sold lots 10 and 11 in Blankenship’s addition to Lorenzo Barker. (DB 9 p 739) The congregation meets in the building at 80 W. Kent S.R. 256.
Laborers for the Harvey Church. (Hanover) 5398 W. S.R. 56 Hanover
Lancaster Baptist. (Lancaster Twp.) This church was formed July 30, 1859 at Byfield’s schoolhouse, according to a history of Lancaster Township, by George S. Cottman. He lists the following as charter members: William and Cornelia Conway, Phannel Steelman [sic? believe is Phanriel Steadman], John, Sarah, Samuel, and James Peterson, Mary McElroy, Aaron and Julia VanCleave, Levi and R.J. Jennings, Susan Wright, William Brazelton, S.G. and Lucy Graham, Elder Thomas Hill, minister, Elder M. Phares, clerk, and Daniel and Jane Rector. This account was drawn by Cottman from J.C. Tibbetts “History of the Coffee Creek Association.”
Lancaster Christian. (Lancaster Twp.) The trustees sold one acre to Burnett Fewell on June 2, 1889. The deed mentions the lot contains the building on which the church is located. The Trustees were Elijah Nicholson and Napoleon B. McKay, elders of the Christian Church of Lancaster, and successors of T.G. Payne and Barton W. Smith. (DB 49 p. 149) The lot was one acre in the NE1/4 Sec. 33 Twp. 5N Range 9 E. According to George Cottman’s History of Lancaster Township, the Christians took over a building that had been used by a Methodist congregation, that was failing The Christians razed the building at a date that was not given. They deeded it to J.E. McConnel who then donated it to the Methodists, who had reorganized. However, this account also says the Christians were followed by the Presbyterians, so it’s unclear when the church building was demolished. There is a deed from Aseneth Hoyt on Apr. 11, 1862 to the elders of the Christian Church for a 1/4 acre in the NE 1/4 Sec. 33 Twp. 5N Range 9E on the Madison and Paris Plank Road which was bounded on the southeast corner by a lot owned by the Methodist Episcopal Church. (DB 20 p. 130)
Lancaster Methodist. (Lancaster Twp.) The Historic Sites Inventory gives the founding of the Lancaster Methodist Church as about 1860. However, on Feb. 16, 1850, Euphrates and Mary Ann Walton sold a lot in the NW1/4 Sec. 31 Twp. 5N Range 9 E to trustees of a Methodist Congregation (not identified) for $110. This land is just south of the Nelson Cemetery and west of Lancaster. The trustees were Isaac Abbott, Preston Condle, James Egner, William Brown, and John Ruggle. They were to “cause to be erected” a church. The Lancaster M.E. church trustees sold lot 10 in Lancaster to David Hughes on March 14, 1863 (DB 21 p. 236). The trustees are not named. Since this lot was in the NE 1/4 Sec. 35 (or this is a copying error), perhaps this not the same congregation. As mentioned in the account of the Lancaster Christian Church, Cottman says the Christians succeeded a failing Methodist body and that the lot was sold to McConnel. This part of the account is apparently correct as John B. and Minnie McConnel sold a half acre in the NE1/4 Sec. 33 Twp. 5N Range 9E to the Methodist trustees on Jan. 3, 1906. (DB 78 p. 35). The trustees were James N. Rector, William R. Dryden, Nick Clashman, and George Phillips. The Lancaster M.E. church elected Joseph Officer, Albert Anderson, W.R. Dryden, and Andrew Clashman, as trustees on Dec. 6, 1923. (MR 5 p. 324)
Lancaster Presbyterian, Old School. (Lancaster Twp.) As mentioned in the sketch of Monroe Presbyterian Church, the Lancaster Presbyterian Church formed from a schism in the Middlefork Presbyterian Church. The New School group called themselves the Lancaster Presbyterian Church, a name that was changed to Monroe. The division was formalized on June 22, 1839 when the Old School Group wrote a statement of beliefs and their names in the session book. The members signing were Robert Elliott, Martha Elliott, Enos Wildman, Jane Wildman, Sarah Ann Thorne, Elizabeth Fenton, William Elliott, Minerva Ann Elliott, Mary Humphrey, Charles M. Culbertson, John Hood, Jane Hood, Robert Graham, Nancy Graham, Alexander Caldwell, Rebecca Caldwell, Nathaniel Rowlison, Jane Rowlison, Elizabeth A. Beachboard, Sarah Johnston, Henry Thorne, and Jane Fenton. After the names is the following note, “Whereupon the above members retired from the communion of our church and became a separate organization.” The congregation apparently met very near to Monroe for land in Section 21 Twp. 5N Range 10E was deeded to Alexander Caldwell, William Elliott, and Henry Thorne, trustees of the Lancaster Presbyterian Church by Robert Elliott on May 29, 1840 (DB S p. 170.) Lancaster and Monroe reunited in September 1870.
Lancaster Presbyterian Church. (Lancaster Twp.) George Cottman’s History of Lancaster Township says that the Presbyterians succeeded the Christians in the building formerly occupied by Methodists in the town of Lancaster. Since the deed involving the Old School group shows that it continued to meet in Monroe Township, it seems that there was yet another Presbyterian congregation meeting in the town of Lancaster.
Liberty Baptist. (Saluda Twp.?) The Coffee Creek History Liberty joined the association after Milton, and Center, and before Madison, which places the date around 1830/31. No location is given, but the history distinguishes between a Liberty Church in Jefferson County and a church of the same name in Scott County. When the Madison Association formed, Liberty joined that group. This seems to be a mistake by the writer of the Coffee Creek history. Judging from the names of the messengers, Liberty is first listed in 1831, but it appears to be the church in Jennings County that changed its name to Graham Baptist Church. The Liberty in Jefferson County is the one that joined Coffee Creek in 1839 represented by Daniel Paul and S.D. Monroe and reporting 23 members.
Liberty Christian. (Monroe Twp.) This church was founded in 1817 as a New Light Congregation, a group of dissident Presbyterians, many of whom later joined the Disciples of Christ, as Liberty did in the 1820s. Benjamin and Ruth Wilson sold 2.5 acres and 56 poles of land in the NW1/4 Sec. 23 Twp. 5N Range 10E to the trustees for $136 on Aug. 31, 1852. (DB 8 p. 421) The trustees were Thomas Wise, Thomas Mitchell, and George Beaty. Trustees elected on June 1, 1901 were Edgar A. Kirk, chairman, Irene Custer, J.M. Wright, C.F. Housefield, and M.B. Ryerson. (Misc. 3 p. 425.) Beverly Vawter, the minister identified with this church, became a member of the Disciples of Christ around 1826, although the denomination was not formally named until the 1830s. The original building, constructed in 1817, was located east of U.S. 421 and the congregation moved when they were displaced by the founding of the former Jefferson Proving Ground. The modern building sits at 8774 N. U.S. Highway 421 on the east side of the highway. This church never had a cemetery; many members were buried at Hebron.
Liberty Methodist. (Republican?) Also referred to as New Liberty. See New Liberty Methodist.
Lick Branch Baptist. (Graham Twp.) Lick Branch joined the Silver Creek Association in August 1824, and the Coffee Creek Association in Aug. 1827. Bennett and Polly Nay sold a lot in the NE1/4 Sec. 13 Twp. 4N Range 8E to the trustees for $10 on Feb.16, 1853. (DB 9 p. 68.) The trustees were William Louden, Sheldon A. Shrewsbury, and John Law. The current building, dating from ca 1890 according to the Historic Sites Inventory, is located at 10439 W. Deputy Pike Road. The church has a cemetery.
Lower Big Creek Methodist. (Lancaster Township) See Mt. Pleasant Methodist
Since this church’s original name was New Lower Big Creek Methodist, it implies there was an old church, although I have not yet located records for such a body.
Macedonia Baptist. (Milton Twp.) Located in Milton Township, Macedonia was founded in Shelby Township, according to the History of Shelby Township. This account said the church was organized at the home of David Danner in 1842 by the Rev. Arthur Smith (sic, Rev. Archer Smith) with meetings held first at private homes, then at a schoolhouse a mile and a half east of the present church. A log house was built in 1846 by Samuel Danner, James Hankins, and others, and was in use until 1871 when the present building was built coinciding with a deed from Joshua and Nancy Culver, the NE 1/4 Section 18 Twp. 4N Range 12E to trustees Samuel Danner, William Danner and James M. Stewart on Nov. 18, 1871 (DB 36 p. 13.) This structure was finished in 1877. The township history lists the first members as David Danner and Catherine, his wife, Tubman Malcolm and Mary Malcolm, Joshua Culver and Nancy Culver, Elizabeth Avery, Joseph and Nellie Craig, the only known names of 14 original members. "Later members were Thomas Little, William Kinney, Benjamin Martin, William Eades, John Taylor, Elizabeth Kern, Nellie Martin, William Reed, Elisha Brown.” The building’s address is 3583 N. Greenbriar Road, Madison, which is about three miles east of Manville (but longer by road). The church has an active congregation and cemetery next to the church building.
Madison Community Church. (Madison) 307 West. St.
Madison First Baptist. (Madison) In June 1829, a building committee was formed to find a building site. On December 18, a committee was constituted to organize a church. According to a sketch in the 1869 minutes of the Madison Baptist Association, the members were J.J. Vail, John Reese, James Jones, Mary Meek, Theresa Lodge, William Jones, and Lyman G. Lathrop. They met in the lower part of the Masonic hall to organize the Madison Baptist Church. The older congregation, Mt. Pleasant Baptist, located on the North Madison hilltop decided their congregation was a barrier to development of a church in Madison, and voted to disband on April 2, 1831 with nine members joining Madison. On 18 Feb. 1851, Henry and Susan Little sold Lot 85 in the Addition West of Broadway to the Trustees for $150. (DB 6 p. 744). The trustees were Simeon S. Gillet, Edwin C. Barbour, and William Cosby. The Historic Sites Inventory says the congregation moved into a building on Vine Street in 1831 and that the replacement building was built between 1851 and 1860. (The long date is apparently literal. Madison Association minutes in 1860 show that the church reported that the church building had been under construction for seven years) It is located at 718 Vine Street.
Madison Independent Baptist. (Madison)
Madison First Christian. (Madison) According to the Biographical, the Christian church was organized May 29, 1836 with 23 members. J. Tilford was bishop pro tem. William F. Thomas and wife Sarah deeded lot 47 in the First Addition West in Madison to the trustees of the Church of God in Christ on Jan. 15, 1839. (DB D p. 351) or $750. The trustees were Joseph M. Tilford, John C. Bramwell, and William H. Branham. The church elected E. Lewis, J.C. Bramwell, and H.F. Robbins, as trustees on Jan. 2, 1850. (MR 1849/50 p. 351.) Elijah Goodwin was secretary. The 1859 Madison Directory lists the Christian church on the East side Poplar between Main Cross and Third Street with the Rev. J. H. Lockwood as pastor. The Historic Sites Inventory dates the oldest part of the building at ca. 1870. The congregation still meets at the site at 512 W. Main Street.
Madison Evangelical Lutheran and Reformed. See German Evangelical.
Madison First Church of the Nazarene. (Madison) 2000 Craigmont
Madison First Presbyterian Church. (Madison) The church was organized in 1815. The Second Presbyterian split from it in 1833. William Hendricks quit claimed Lot 9 in Madison to the trustees of the First Presbyterian Church on Sept. 13, 1839. (DB R p. 243). On Nov. 28, 1848, John and Drusilla Cravens, sold Lot 10 for $1,000 to the trustees. (DB 4 p.626.) This land was in the First Addition West on the corner of Broadway and High Street, east of Broadway and North of High. The current building was constructed in 1846-47 or 1848, according to the Historic Sites Inventory, which says the building was the congregation’s third.
Madison Associate Presbyterian. (Madison) The 1859/860 directory shows this church at the south corner of Vine and First. Along with the First and Second Presbyterian, it was one of three Presbyterian bodies in Madison that year.
The first official record comes on Dec. 1, 1845 when William and Ann Hendricks sold lot 37 in Hendricks and Graves addition to the trustees, David Moffett, John Ledgerwood, Samuel G. Welch, William D. Hillis, and W.J. Grave, for $500. This land was on High Street. A building had been constructed by May 29, 1847, (MR 1847-48 p. 24) the associate congregation issued a mortgage to cover payment for painting the steeple. Trustees mentioned on Dec. 2, 1847 (MR 1847-48 p. 185) were Robert Craig, John S. Hillis, William D. Hillis. On Dec. 1, 1845, William and Ann Hendricks sold lot 37 in Hendricks and Graves addition to the trustees, David Moffett, John Ledgerwood, Samuel G. Welch, William D. Hillis, and W.J. Grave, for $500. This land was on High Street. On Jan. 7, 1848, (DB 2 p. 669).?? The sale price was $1. On March 27, 1849, William and Ann Hendricks sold Lot 81 for $1,000 to the trustees (DB 4 p. 524) This lot adjoined the residence of Rev. James Brown and except 26 feet of the western end. It was bounded by Vine Street on the East and Third Street on the north. The trustees were Robert Craig, William D. Hillis, and John Hillis. It appears to be the church that became a United Presbyterian Congregation by 1887.
Madison New Testament Church. (Madison) 3120 Black Road
Madison New Testament Church. (Madison) 1839 Gullion Drive. (Listings show two churches of the same name at different locations.)
Madison Pentecostal Church. (Madison) 1542 Clifty Drive
Madison Second Baptist. (Madison.) The Coffee Creek history reports that this church had dropped from the minutes. Since a church of the same name can be traced from 1849 on, perhaps the association lost track of this church, or the church disbanded and was replaced by a body of the same name. The history gives a list of churches in the order that the joined the association, but not dates. Second Madison is listed after Bethany, which joined in 1839.
Madison Second Baptist. (Madison) This was a black church founded by Aug. 13, 1849 when George W. and Charlotte Leonard sold Lot 4 in Seningfield? and Leonards Addition to the trustees (names not given) of the Second Baptist Church. (DB 8 p. 256) The land was on Fifth Street and one line ran parallel to West Street. The trustees were not named. On June 23, 1849, trustees elected were Peter Hargrave, Chapman Harris, and Samuel Jones. (MR 1849/50 p. 132) On Jan. 10, 1852, the trustees sold a lot on Walnut Street, adjoining Crooked Creek. The church joined the Madison Baptist Association in 1860, but then does not appear again in its records. On March 31, 1874, the trustees received land on Broadway and Fourth Street from James and Clara Sering. The trustees were Robert Sander, Richard Carter, and William Brown. (Deed Book 46 p. 191). The 1887/88 Madison directory shows the church as being located at 613 Broadway with the Rev. J.S. Dorsey as minister. See St. Paul’s Baptist.
Madison Second Christian. (Madison) Trustees for this church sold land on Aug. 25, 1905 to James Salvedor. (DB 4 p. 124) The trustees were James Salvedor Johnson, William Grant, Early Toddy, Washington Hicks, and Borden Toddy. (MR 4 p. 124).
Madison Second Presbyterian Church. (Madison). The Second Presbyterian formed in 1833 as part of the Old School/New School split. The Second Presbyterian Church was founded by James Johnson, who preached at the First Presbyterian Church, but formed the Second church as a New School body, according to the Biographical Souvenir. Enoch Doan and wife C.J. sold lot 170 in the Addition west of Broadway to trustees of the Second Presbyterian Church, Jeremiah Sullivan and William Hendricks, on March 11, 1835. (DB J p. 35) The 1859 directory lists this as “Second Presbyterian Church.--Northeast corner 3d and West. Rev. Wallace Atterbury, Pastor.” The 1887/88 directory shows it remaining on this location under the Rev. J.H. Barnard. The building at Third and West Street, was designed in 1834, according to the Historic Sites interview. It is currently owned by Historical Madison.
Madison Methodist Early Activity. (Madison) According to the Biographical Souvenir, the Methodist church was first organized in Madison by the Rev. Walter Griffith, who was on the Lawrenceburg circuit in the year 1811. “One account says it was in July, and another that it was in October of that year that he formed a class at George Burton’s house, which was at about the point where the city waterworks engine-house now stands.” Elijah Sparks, an attorney and afterwards a judge, was a zealous local M.E. preacher, probably the first man who preached regularly in the town. Col. Patrick Brown, of Kentucky, preached frequently before 1811. It was a small brick house, situated on the lot at the northeast corner of Main and East streets.” It is not clear to me that this activity led directly to the formation of Trinity Methodist, which was to become the major Methodist congregation in town. (See Trinity United Methodist.)
Madison Methodist Charges. (Madison) There were a number of charges or missions in Madison that appear to be separate from known churches. Reuben Wood was appointed to Madison Methodist in 1832, Enoch Wood 1834. Circuit riders were named as follows for some of the charges that cannot be connected with other churches. More than one minister was named in some cases for the same year.
Madison Station: 1835 William Daniel, 1836 Lewis Rodman, 1837, William Ross, 1838, Edward Ames, 1839
Fernando Holliday, 1839 William Frale, 1840, Joseph Marsee, 1841, Allen Wiley
Madison (West) 1848, Walter Prescott
Madison (North) 1848, James Tiffany
Madison Methodist--Third Street Charge. (Madison) The first record of this church comes in 1842 when Methodist records show that William Daily was a circuit minister at Madison-Third Street. John Sullivan was assigned in 1843; Francis Conwell, 1844, John Kiger, 1845; John Bayless, 1847, Jacob Bruner, 1849 Thomas Eddy, 1850, Joseph M. Wilson and Nancy sold Lot 54 in the First Addition West to the trustees of a Methodist Congregation. (DB 7 p. 594) The trustees were Joseph Northcraft, James Miles, Richard Pindall, and Joseph Garrett. On July 17, 1848, the church elected Joseph Northcraft, Richard Pindle, John Wesley Short, George Brown, and Gerbrae Henry Beard as trustees. (MR 1847/48 p. 4110.) The 1855 minutes of the Southeastern Indiana Conference show donations from the Third-Street Charge.
Madison--Walnut Street Methodist. UGRR says that in 1839 seventy-eight black members withdrew from Wesley Chapel when the choir took over seats originally given to African-Americans and moved to Walnut Street. This building on the West side of Walnut still stands. The following ministers were named as Methodist circuit riders as having been named to this church in the following years: John Miller, 1845, William Hibben, 1845; William Smith, 1846 and 1847, Listed, no minister, 1848; 1849, Charles Davison (who was also handling the Wesley Chapel). Listed, but no minister, 1850, Williamson Terrell 1851.
Madison Pentecostal. (Madison) 1542 Clifty Drive
Madison United Brethren. (Madison). On 18 Feb. 1849, the church’s trustees agreed, along with the Madison Methodist and Regular Baptist trustees, to accept a lot for erecting a house of worship for the three churches (MR 1847-1849) John McVela? was the only United Brethren trustee elected. The church is not listed in the 1858/59 city directory
Madison United Presbyterian. (Madison) The 1872/73 city directory lists this church in addition to the First and Second Presbyterian, locating it at the southwest corner of Vine and Third Street. It seems highly likely that this is the church that had previously been the Associate Reformed Church. It is also listed in the 1903 directory.
Madison Universalist Church. (Madison) UGRR says this body was founded in 1833 and that Madison hosted the 1844 association meeting. Trustees were elected for a Universalist Church in Madison on Feb. 5, 1849. (MR 1847-1849) These trustees were Henry Hildreth, Isaac Wagner, and McClure. George Chambers was clerk. On March 14, 1872, an election of trustees certified that Walter Beaty was elected to replace P. Sheik, who had died. (Misc. A p.160). Isaac Wagner was moderator. The election refers to the congregation as the First Universalist Church.
The 1887/88 Madison directory locates this congregation on the East side of Poplar between Main and Third. On July 12, 1895, trustees were elected at the residence of Mrs. Kate Fisher. These were John Smith, Miss Martha A. Wagner, and A. Augustine. (Misc. 3 p. 23). Augustine declined and the officers then met at the residence of Jesse Wagner and selected William Watlington. Miss Elizabeth Thomas was clerk. The congregation sold its site, Lot 4, in the first addition in Madison to the denomination on July 18, 1895. This was pursuit to a rule from that the denomination, not the congregation, should own church property. (DB 64 p. 254) The trustees were John Smith, Miss Mattie Wagner, and William Watlington. This deed notes that the church acquired the property from Mary Reed on Oct. 9, 1869.
Manville Christian. (Milton Twp.) Manville grew out of the first Milton Baptist Church when, as discussed elsewhere, Jacob Short, brought Beverly Vawter to preach. Short had been a founding member of Indian-Kentuck Baptist Church in 1814. The church claims a founding of 1830, but no authority has ever been cited for this date. The Madison Public Library has an undated pamphlet titled "Early Churches of Jefferson County" which was compiled by the Current Events Club which lists Manville's founding as 1830, but gives no source for the claim. The first certain date is May 11, 1834 when Benjamin Emberson sold land for the church site to the trustees, Elisha Short, William Yates and Elias Yates. (DB W p. 13.) The earliest date on the church membership roles is 1836, placed next to the 13th member, Mary Short, along with a question mark. The church probably took its modern name in 1858 when the post office, known as Buena Vista since 1847, received the name Manville. In 1856, when the church elected trustees (MR. 525), the organization is identified as “The Christian Church of Milton Twp.” The trustees were Charles N. Lanham, John Yates, and Joel S. Yates, the only time such an election was reported in the nineteenth century.
The church building, whose construction is estimated between 1850 and 1880 by the Historic Sites Inventory, is located at 5491 E. Wolf Run Road, on the east side of the road. It is periodically flooded by the nearby West Fork of the Indian-Kentuck Creek. The church cemetery is located on the hillside on the west side of the road. The church disclaims ownership of the burying ground.
Marble Methodist. (Monroe Twp.) The DAR transcriptions of Marble Valley Cemetery in 1941 quotes the following from the June 2, 1859 issue of the Madison Courier. "A new Methodist church opened on May 28th, in the northwest corner of Monroe Township, called Marble Church, making eight churches in the township." Courier "
Marble Valley Methodist. (Monroe Twp.) Records for Marble Valley and Marble Creek are difficult to sort out. Marble Valley, located in the Northwest part of the former Jefferson Proving Ground was referred to as Old Marble. The older church is most clearly listed in records prior to the May 28, 1859 opening mentioned for Marble Church. Trustees for the older church, elected on Feb. 25, 1851 were Ebenezer Large, Jacob Johnes [perhaps a bad reading of Jines], Dallas Hensley, Joseph M. Smith, and Nicholas Bain. (MR 1849/50 p. 275) Jacob Jines and Joseph Smith are buried in the Marble Valley Cemetery in Section 4, Twp. 5N Range 9E. The cemetery was relocated to a site south of Fairmount Cemetery and east of Michigan Road when the land was taken for the former Jefferson Proving Ground. A record of contributions made in 1852 to the Southeastern Methodist Conference show a donation from a member at Marble, then part of the Canaan Circuit.
The trustees elected at the Marble Valley church, part of the Canaan Circuit, on Oct. 24, 1914 were G.H. Perry, John Dilk, Andrew Ebel, Joseph Buhmiller, and Charles McHenry. (Misc. 4 p. 496) Trustees elected on Aug. 16, 1923 were William Wilkins, Arthur Irwin, and Charles Miller. (Misc. 5 p. 362) On July 30, 1925, the trustees selected were James Miller, Arthur Irwin, William Wilkins, Houston ? Jones, and Christian Bear. (Misc. 5 p. 401) On June 15, 1915, trustees for Old Marble were elected. These were Joseph Buhmiller, Henry Perry, and Andrew Eble. (Misc. 5 p. 48)
Marble Hill Methodist. (Saluda Twp.) Melson Largent and Elizabeth deeded a quarter acre to the trustees of a Methodist congregation (name not given) on May 12, 1845 (DB W p. 529) for $5. The land was in the NW1/4 Sec. 19 Twp. 2N Range 10E. The trustees were John W. Jones, Samuel Berry, William Largent, Aaronson (?) Smith, and John Lockhart. This congregation was probably associated with the Marble Hill cemetery as it is located in Section 19 and Melson Largent, two Berrys, and a Jones are buried there.
The name Marble Hill Methodist is not known to be real, but I have used it for convenience. This could be the Concord Methodist.
McKendree Methodist Chapel. (Milton Twp.) Spellings of this church are given as McKendra, McKendry, and other variants, but it draws its name from William McKendree, American Methodist Bishop, 1757-1835, who made a missionary tour beyond the Alleghenies in 1801. Samuel and Rebecca Rogers deeded land to the trustees, Samuel Orem, John Rogers, William Malcolm, Benjamin Rogers Jr., and Samuel Rogers on July 21, 1844 (DB 2 p. 539.) By deed description, the church was located in the SW 1/4 Section 8 Twp. 4N Range 12E, which is on modern Greenbriar Ridge Road near the Switzerland County boundary--the deed mentions a road from Moorefield to Brooks Mill. Trustees elected at Moorefield on July 25, 1868 were William Malcolm, Charles Danner, and John Rogers; elected on Jan. 27, 1872 were Wesley Steel, James Demaree, and William Malcolm; William Smith Secretary and J.C. Smith, recording steward. James B. Lawthrop was presiding elder (Misc. 1 p. 156.) The church disbanded by 1880 with members joining Home Church. A history by Effie Fagg said that members moving included John Brook, John Rogers, and the Malcolms. Jefferson Country cemetery transcriptions made by the John Paul Chapter of the DAR incorrectly record this cemetery associated with this church as McHenry or McKenzie. The church building was presumably dismantled years ago.
Methodist. (Madison?) Rufus and Ruth Gale sold a lot to Methodist church trustees on July 28, 1842. (Book U p. 18). The denomination’s name, but not the name or location of the congregation is given. The only land description is that the lot is bounded by a lot bought by Joseph F. D. Lanier of Rufus Gale. The trustees were Franklin Allen, F.A. Hite, S. Wilber, Samuel Thomas, Robert Miner, and William Baxter. Because the Miner cemetery is in North Madison and Wilber owned a tract in the same area in 1876, my guess is that this church was in North Madison. A search for the Gale/Lanier deed should clear this up .
Methodist. (Saluda Twp.?) A Methodist group elected Daniel C. Rea, John Harris, Amos Oldfield, Thomas Davidson, and Robert Benham as trustees on Aug. 22, 1848 to receive land for erecting a church. (MR 1847/48 p. 435.) No township or legal land description is given. Benham’s involvement suggests this might have been in the Chelsea area, the only place that I find landowners named Benham and Davidson in reasonable proximity.
Methodist . (Hanover Twp.?) The John Paul Jefferson County Court Records, reprinted by the Jefferson County Historical Society, mention road workers who are drawn from “Smocks Fork from the Methodist Meeting house up...” The order was made Monday, October 15, 1811. This area was in what was then Washington Township, one of three original townships of Jefferson County, that comprised the area west of modern Monroe and Madison Townships. A family account says that Smock’s Spring was three miles southwest of Hanover and since it also says Smock’s Big Spring was in Section 16 (set aside for schools), which places the spring in the area where State Roads 56 and 356 intersect. Other accounts, which place the spring in terms of land owners, confirm this location. I cannot connect this church with later Methodist congregations.
Middle Fork Baptist. (Lancaster Township). (Not to be confused with the Middle Fork of Indian Kentucky Church in Brown Twp., Ripley County.) Both were members of the Madison Baptist Association.) Middlefork joined the Silver Creek Association in August 1817 according to association minutes. A building had been constructed by 1822 when Coffee Creek minutes mention an association meeting held there in August. In 1823, it reported 29? (report is barely legible) members to the association and its messengers were James Alexander (the minister), Hezekiah Stout, and John Kicklis. It was a founding member of the Coffee Creek Association in August 1827. In 1828, its messengers were James Alexander, Hezekiah Stout, Raymond Mooney, and William Wallace and had 32 members. Cleavers D. Goldsberry and wife, India, deeded land in the SE1/4 SE1/4 Sec. 24 Twp. 5N Range 9E to the trustees on Oct. 12, 1839 for $6. (DB R p. 56). The trustees were William G. Anderson, Robert Williams, and Daniel Rector. The Inventory claims that divided loyalties during the Civil War caused it to dissolve, but the church does not disappear from the Madison Baptist Association minutes until after 1866. (No records available to me for 1867 and 1868) There is a deed on Feb. 11, 1867 from James Alexander and wife, Agnes, to Hezekiah Stout, William G. Anderson, and Isaac Chambers, trustees of the Middle Fork Baptist Church for 1 acre 2 poles in Section 24 Twp. 5N 9E. (DB 19 p. 1 69).
Middle Fork Christian. (Lancaster Twp.) The church was deeded one acre in part of the NW 1/4 of Section 25 Twp. 5N Range 9A on Aug. 27, 1897, by James J. Hinson? (DB 66 page 340) for $100. Trustees were Adam Sans?, Charles H. Wilson, James Cooper, and Charles Malcolm. In July 2002, the property was listed for sale in Jefferson County with all of the church furnishings, such as pews and the piano.
Middle Fork Presbyterian. (modern Monroe Twp.) This is the congregation that gave rise to the Lancaster Presbyterian Church and later became known as the Monroe Presbyterian Church. The original members were Robert Elliott, Martha Elliott, David Loring, Fanny Loring, Miles W. Craig, Charles M. Culbertson, Rahammah Wilson, Elizabeth J. Craig, and Jane M. Elliott, who joined on Sept. 25, 1830. Anne Wells, Elizabeth Patton, Jane Large, and Robert Kinnear, joined on September 26. The name was changed to Lancaster Presbyterian Church on March 30, 1833. Monroe Township was then part of Lancaster Township. See Monroe Presbyterian and Lancaster Presbyterian.
Middle Fork United Brethren. (Lancaster Twp.?) Trustees for this congregation were elected at a meeting of the denomination’s Loughery Circuit in July 1876. (Misc. 1 p. 410). Horace C. Lockwood, Zedekiah Powell, and John Wyatt were elected for the purpose of erecting a house of worship. The location was not given. Daniel Shuck was presiding elder and Samuel Richardson was secretary. Powell and Wyatt owned land in the SW 1/4 Section 25 Twp. 5N Range 9E, and Powell in the SE 1/4, according to the 1876 plat map. This land is about a mile SE of Middlefork Station and south of Middlefork Creek.
Milton Baptist. (Milton Twp.) The Milton Baptist Church had two different periods of operation under the same name and drawing from the same core membership, particularly the Hankins family. The first church joined the Coffee Creek Association on Sept. 5, 1829 with thirty-two members. Its largest known membership was forty-four in 1832 and it dissolved in 1837. With one exception, the only proven members are messengers for years that Baptist association minutes are available: 1829-1832 and 1836-37. The members were John Lanham, William Yates, William Hankins, Aaron Hankins, Joseph Hankins, John Pherigo, William Brooks, S. Sylvester, and Joseph Runnals. The one exception: Eliza Jane Hall was granted a certificate in April 1841 to show her membership in old Milton Church.
In its second life, the Milton Baptist Church was organized the first Saturday in May 1840 at the home of Aaron Hankins. This account was given in the original church record books. This sketch was written sometime during the 1870s because it says that of the original members, Nicholas Lock, Elizabeth Hankins Aaron Hankins (who died in 1881), Sarah Hankins, and Amy Moore are still alive and that the current membership is 105. This history gives the original fourteen members as Aaron Hankins, Sarah Hankins, Moses Hankins, Rachel Hankins, Nancy Hankins, Sarah Hall, William Hankins, Elizabeth Hankins, Abraham Crandell, Franky Ray, Amy Moore, Sarah Ann Jackson, Jemima Weathers, and Nicholas Lock.
The congregation authorized construction of a building 26 by 30 feet, to be built out "of hune logs shingle ruf sealed above," according to minutes of the first Saturday March 1841. Aaron and Sarah Hankins sold the trustees a tract of land containing 63 rods in the NW1/4 Section 11 Twp. 4N Range 11E on Oct. 8, 1844. The trustees at the time were Henry Hall, Jonathan D. Hall and Joseph Hankins. (DB W p. 96) The church was on the west bank of the East Fork. Aaron and Sarah deeded the Hankins graveyard, .66 acre in the same section, for use as a church cemetery on March 18, 1871 (DB 36 p. 380) to the trustees. The last messenger to the Madison Association was John Renfro in 1881, at which time the membership was given as fifty. The last record in Madison Association minutes comes in 1883 when clerk Aaron Hankins reported the deaths of James Griffin and E.A. Hankins.
Monroe Presbyterian. (Monroe Twp.) According to a history by Charles Heberhart, director of the Jefferson County Historical Society, Monroe developed from a schism in the Middlefork Presbyterian Church. Session minutes show that Middlefork formed Sept. 25, 1830 at a meeting held at the home of Robert Elliott Sr. Middlefork changed its name to Lancaster Presbyterian in 1833 and occupied a log church built in 1838. The church split over the slavery issue which a division made on June 22, 1839 with one group calling itself the Lancaster Church, New School, but within months adapting the name Monroe Presbyterian Church. (Monroe Township was formed from part of Lancaster Township, hence the names.) The charter members were Robert Elliott Jr., Catherine Elliott, Anthony L. Elliott, Elizabeth Elliott, John C. Salisbury, Leah H. Salisbury, Miles W. Craig, Elizabeth Craig, Dr. H. Morrison, Anna S. Morrison, William McGee, Margaret McGee, Hezekiah Patton, Anne Patton, Daniel Baxter, Susan Nichols, and Martha Nichols. The church gave rise to the small settlement of Redpath in the south-central part of the township. On July 8, 1848, Anthony Elliott and Elizabeth sold land in the SW1/4 Section 21 Twp 5N Range 10E to the trustees, John Salisbury, Thurston Wood, and Robert Elliott (DB 27 p. 78) In a deed dated April 27, 1849, land was deeded by Robert Elliott Jr., Miles W. Craig, Anthony Elliott, J.C. Salisbury, and Thurston Wood to John C. Salisbury, Thurston Wood, and Robert Elliott Jr., trustees for Monroe, for use by the New School congregation for a minister’s residence. On Apr. 7 1853, James M. Todd and wife, Mary, sold land in the E1/2 SE1/4 Section 11 Twp. 5N Range 10. (DB 11 p. 450) This may have been a correction because it refers to the land as being the same premises sold to the trustees by William Crouch and that the lot involved is “the same on which Monroe Church stands.”
A stone church was completed in 1844. After the Civil War, the old and new church reconciled, with both bodies meeting in the same building from 1865 to 1870 and finally reuniting in 1870. A stone building was completed in 1935 but the church closed on Feb. 2, 1941 as the church property was taken over as part of the Jefferson Proving Ground. Some of its membership combined with the Smyrna Presbyterian Congregation.
Morris Chapel Methodist. (Milton Twp.) Morris Chapel was formed after the Ohio River made Armstrong Chapel inaccessible. An early twentieth century account by the Jefferson County Historical Society reports two conflicting dates in which Morris Chapel was built, either 1856 or 1859, on the farm of James Brooks. The church was definitely established by May 14, 1860 when James Brooks and wife, Sarah, deeded a tract of undisclosed size in Section 6 Twp. 3N Range 12E (DB 18 p. 96) to trustees, John Armstrong, William Heath and James Brooks. These three still served on July 25, 1868 when the church reported trustee elections. The church began to wane after the formation of the Brooksburg Methodist Church, which included twenty-five Morris Chapel members in its charter membership. The church was still operating on Jan. 2, 1913 when G.W. Danner, T.H. Oliver., O.H. Tevis, J.H. Coleman, and W.T. Heath were elected trustees. (MR 4 p. 424). The cemetery itself has a concrete slab at the entrance with the following information about the church. “Founded A.D. 1859. Dedicated May 2, 1860. Razed, Dec. 22, 1973.” It is just off Splinter Ridge Road, just off Route 56 east of Brooksburg and the Indian-Kentuck Creek.
Mt. Carmel Methodist. (Lancaster Twp) William Hendricks and wife Ann and Sarah Stevenson quit claimed two acres to the trustees of the Mt. Carmel Methodist Church in the NW1/4 Sec. 27 Twp. 5 Range 9E on March 14, 1845. This places the church about 2.5 miles south of Dupont and just over a mile north of Lancaster. The trustees are named as James Hibner, Ebenezer Rollins, Vincent Rollins, Greenup Fish, and Asa Hunt. The deed says that during his life John Paul deed two acres to the church, but that the original deed was not recorded. The heirs of John Paul (the Hendricks and Stevenson) used this 1845 deed to honor Paul’s wishes. According to his tombstone in Fairmount Cemetery, Paul died in 1830, which means the formation of this church dates from before 1830. Paul’s daughter, Sarah, married Benjamin Stevenson, identified on his tombstone as a Methodist Minister. Stevenson died Nov. 10, 1831 in his 27th year according to his tombstone at Fairmount, so he may have been associated with this church. The church quit claimed a lot to Horace Byfield in the SW1/4 Section 27 on May 17, 1845 (DB P p. 115) In the 1847-1848 Mortgage Record (p. 326) the trustees are given as Alexander R. Wilson, Henry Rawlings, Irwin Shrewsberry, A. Brissco? (Brissy?) minister, and Vincent Rawlings, secretary. On May 5, 1849, trustees elected to receive property for the Mt. Carmel Charge in Dupont were John B. Fish, Vincent Rowlings, Thomas Alexander, Samuel B. Fish, and Asa S. Hunt. (MR 1849/50 p. 62) The Historic Sites Inventory says this church was absorbed by one in Dupont in 1851.
Mt. Carmel Methodist Church. (Graham Twp.) The DAR cemetery transcriptions for Jefferson County say that this church was later moved to Mt. Gilead, Scott County. The cemetery that was transcribed was listed as being on Hansell’s farm in Section 18 Twp. 4N Range 8E. The Jefferson County road map shows this as the Carmel cemetery, located on the north side of Blake Road, just east of Hardy Lake and the Scott County line. The earliest transcribed death date in this cemetery is 1855. I have not connected any other records with this body, yet.
Mt. Olive. (Graham Twp.) The DAR transcribed a cemetery called Mt. Olive, located in Section 1 Twp. 4N Range 8E. The notes state “There used to be a church at this site.” The cemetery has more than a hundred field stones. At the time of the 1941 cemetery survey, Mt. Olive Cemetery was on the Innes farm, south of Whithams. Since Samuel Wells wife Nancy is buried there, and Wells owned land in the SW1/4 Section 1 according to the 1876 Plat Map, it was probably on his farm. All three transcribed stones show an 1852 death date. There is no indication of the church’s denomination.
Mt. Pleasant Baptist. (Madison Twp.) Mt. Pleasant, pivotal to the development of Baptist churches in Jefferson County, grew out of the Crooked Creek Baptist Church. It was pivotal because it was the home church of the Elder Jesse Vawter, who served much of rural Jefferson and Switzerland County until churches developed in those areas. In 1812, the Crooked Creek congregation relocated from east of the Michigan Road on the current site of Fairmount Cemetery to a frame building on the North Madison Hill west of the later railroad tracks. The church changed its name to Mt. Pleasant coincident with the move. Property for the church was deeded to the trustees by John and Polly Vawter on Dec. 24, 1814 (DB A p. 79.) No property description is listed in the deed, but the 1876 plat map show a Mrs. Vawter owned land along both sides of the railroad tracks just east of modern S.R. 7 along modern S.R. 62. (Clifty Drive).
The church added forty members in an 1817 revival and twenty-three in 1823, but it lost members as new churches formed. An important group left by April 26, 1816 when seven members formed the Vernon Baptist Church. All seven bore letters from Mt. Pleasant and included Jesse Vawter's son, John, and his family. The church probably also suffered with the formation of the Harbert's Creek Baptist Church (modern Wirt) on Feb. 14, 1818. Madison Association minutes for 1871 report that "most, if not all" of the twenty-one founding members bore letters from Mt. Pleasant. When the Coffee Creek Association formed in 1827, Mt. Pleasant still had eighty-four members despite the withdrawals.
The church voted to disband in April 1831 in order to promote the formation of a Baptist Church in Madison and most members joined the newly formed Madison Baptist Church. The Rev. Jesse Vawter joined Wirt Baptist, where he is buried. John Vawter sold the church lot to George Stribling for $2 on March 19, 1831 (DB G p. 299.) The last meeting was held April 2, 1831.
Mt. Pleasant Baptist. (Shelby Twp.) Mt. Pleasant on Hall's Ridge drew much of its early membership from the former Milton Baptist Church. It sprang to life with a membership of 106 when it joined the Long Run Baptist Association in 1897.
The group that formed Mt. Pleasant decided to meet in the Halls Ridge School. Coming from Milton church were Joe Rogers, wife, Orpha, daughter Susie, Levi Rogers, wife Anna, son Mark, and John, Sarah and Ina Renfro, and Robert Spleen, according to a church history compiled by a committee of church members and dated Sept. 11, 1941. This account said Renfro and Methodist minister Cal Gray held a revival for several weeks at the Halls Ridge School House and that services continued there for two to three years.
The church was founded Sept. 11, 1897 in a grove on the John Lockridge farm (later owned by Edward Schwartz) according to the 1941 account which said a revival was conducted by the Rev. Ben Tevis and Rev. Cal Gray (Both Methodists) in the school house. However, the church continued to meet at the school house until the building was constructed. The congregation elected trustees at a meeting at the school house Sept. 10, 1898 (Misc. 3 p. 281.) The trustees elected were Jonathan P. Lee, Levi C. Rogers, George W. Rea, Robert D. Jackson, and William Barnes. A.E. Hammel was moderator and Anna Rogers, clerk. The church building was constructed on land donated by Killis and Anna Lee and deeded to trustees, Clark Brown, Jonathan P. Lee, Robert D. Jackson, Ebenezer Rodgers, Levi Rodgers, and James Stewart. The church was completed after Nov. 22, 1899 and probably dedicated in December, according to the official account. Mt. Pleasant was admitted a member of the Long Run Association when that body met Sept. 21, 1898. The church is active and the cemetery, located next to the church on Hall’s Ridge Road, is in use.
Mt. Pleasant Methodist Church. (Smyrna Twp.) The will of Ross Sharp, written May 1, 1840, mentions the congregation of New Lower Big Creek (Secession Church.) The church changed its name from New Lower Big Creek to Mt. Pleasant, according to a deed in which John P. and Rachel Brown deeded one acre to the trustees on June 28, 1841 (DB T p. 38) in SW1/4 Section 3 Twp. 5N Range 9E. The deed says the sale was made for the erection of the meeting house. The trustees were Samuel Thompson, William D. Kinnear, James Francis, James Cochran, John McKay, and Angus McKay. It is possible the nearby McKay-Sites Cemetery was associated with this church. William D. Kinnear, 1817-1893, is buried here, as are John and Angus McKay, along with members of the Thompson and Francis families. Sharp is buried here, along with his wife Margie, and their son William chose Angus McKay as his guardian, so the link appears convincing. Also buried here is Maggie Scott, 1871-1898, wife of the Rev. M.R. Scott.
Mt. Zion Baptist. (Hanover Twp.) The trustees sold lot part of 18 in Hanover to Robert McKee on Oct. 15, 1886 for $125. (DB 51 p. 444) The trustees, William Anderson, William Gibson, and Larry Sanders, acquired lot 18 in the West addition on Oct. 15, 1886. (DB 51, p. 444) Perhaps this is a land swap. The congregation met in the Colored School House in Hanover on Jan. 19, 1907. The trustees elected were Eric Lewis?, John Sanders, Sam Sanders, and George Johnson. Mathis Humes was moderator and Nancy Howard Clerk. (Misc. 4 p. 178)
Mt. Zion Methodist. (Madison Twp.) The Mt. Zion Methodist Church, located on Ryker's Ridge appears to have formed about the time trustees were noted in Jefferson County Miscellaneous Records on Aug. 6, 1868. The record gives these men as John B. Cochran, Ephraim P. Warfield, John Scott, Charles Alman (also Almond), and William H. Phillips. The land for the Church in the NE1/4 Section 30 Twp. 4N Range 11E was sold by Jacob and Mary Grebe to the trustees on Aug. 26, 1868 (DB 28 p 44.) A newspaper account says the congregation disbanded in May 1972. The building, on Ryker’ Ridge Road, is used as a private residence. (2002)
Mt. Zion Pilgrim Holiness. (Monroe Township). See International Holiness Church
Mt. Zion Sabbath School. (Lancaster Twp.) This body was organized in 1844 at the Houghton Schoolhouse, according to George Cottman’s history of Lancaster Township. He did not give any denominational affiliation.
Mt. Zion United Methodist. (Saluda Twp.) A Madison Courier account (One of the columns in the Series “They Say and Do in the Country”) says the original church was built in the 1840s. The newspaper account relates, and deeds confirm, that Jacob and Permelia Bear sold land to the trustees on Sept. 1, 1851. The official record shows this land was part of the SE1/.4 Sec. 11 Twp 2N Range 9E to trustees for $428. (DB 7 p. 400.) The trustees were William Hern, Jacob Bear, Beden Davis, Richard Frazier, and John Bear. The congregation is not identified in the deed, but the section includes the Zion Cemetery. The newspaper account says this land was next to the old church. The latest building was begun in 1880 and dedicated on December 1881, according to an account in the Madison Courier on July 17, 1980, about the one hundredth anniversary of the building’s construction.
Mountain Assembly Church of God. (Madison) Listed at 1524 Craigmont St.
New Bethel Methodist. (Saluda Twp.) The Bethel M.E. church received 1 acre in Section 31 Twp. 3N Range 9E on Sept. 10, 1888 from Beacher? David. Trustees elected on July 15, 1912 were William Walker, John Clausing, and James Phillips. (Misc. 4 p. 396) The church is located at 9248 W. New Bethel Road, Lexington, west of Chelsea.
New Hope Baptist. (Saluda Twp.) At Chelsea 5104 S.R. 62, Lexington.
New Liberty Methodist. (Republican Twp.) This church was in the Blocher Circuit and elected Francis Gray as a trustee on July 7, 1900. (MR 3 p. 387) Trustees elected on July 8, 1907 were Sherman Sever, H.G. Kent, and William Moore. (MR 4 p. 100) This time the church was called Liberty Methodist. On Jan. 20, 1922, the trustees elected were Francis Gray, Josiah M. Hall, and William F. Renschler. (MR 5 p. 258) This appears to be the church indicated by an icon on the 1900 Jefferson County Plat map, located on the property of J. Sever in the SE1/4 NW1/4 Section 13 Twp. 3N Range 8E about 2.5 miles southwest of Kent.
New Prospect Baptist. (Saluda Twp.) Trustees elected on June 12, 1901 were Elmer W. Scott, Frank M. Lee, David Boylan, and John Bain. T.A. Childs was moderator. (Misc. 3 p. 12). The church cemetery is in Section 36, Twp. 3N, Range 9E. Although transcriptions show one 1874 burial date, that is the only one earlier than 1884, so it must be questioned. The address of the church is 7007 S. Prospect Road, Hanover.
New Testament Church. (Madison) Black Road near S.R. 62
North Madison Baptist. (Madison) A committee met on Nov. 17, 1849 in what later became the Odd Fellows Hall to organize the congregation. The founding members were James Jones, Allen Jones, John Waterman, William C. Vawter, Elias Stapp, John H. Stapp, Jeptha D. Stapp, Benjamin Smith, John S. Vawter, James Vawter, Holman S. Vawter, John W. Vawter, William Millhouse, James Kelly, Jane Jones, Louisa Jones, Susan J.W. Clark, Mary Patton, Cynthia A. Prindle, Deborah Waterman, Ally Stapp, Susan Stapp, Nancy Smith, Sarah B. Vawter, Martha E. Vawter, Mary Hughey, Nancy Merrill, and Elizabeth Kelly. The first business meeting was held on the first Saturday in December 1849. Elias and Susan Stapp sold land on Orchard Street to the trustees for $1 on Dec. 16, 1850. (DB 6 p. 779) The land was on Orchard Street. The trustees were Robert Branham, James Kelley, and James Vawter. The building is located at 1906 Orchard Street.
North Madison Christian. ( Madison) The trustees, David C. Branham, Abijah H. Seymour, and John O. Rae, received lots 33 and 34 in Richies Addition in April 1869 from Robert John Elvin, James G. Wilson, James McKeand, and Isaac Richie, trustees of the Presbyterian Church. (DB 28 p. 597). This lot adjoined the Presbyterian Church lot. According to the church’s Web site, there were about 50 members in the congregation when the site was purchased. The 1887/88 Madison Directory lists this church with the Rev. Philemon Vawter as minister, but gives no location. The congregation meets at 423 Green Road.
North Madison Methodist. (Madison) Alexander Washer and wife, Clarissa, sold lot 25 in the addition to the North Madison trustees on Nov. 4, 1843. (DB V p. 103) The land was east of the west line of the lot holding the parsonage. The trustees were James H. Cowden, Charles W. Bassett, Silas Ritchie, John H. Taylor, and William H. Phillips. Robert and Mary Jane Marshall sold Lot 20 in Marshalls Addition on the corner of Clay and High Street to the trustees on Sept. 7. 1848. (DB 4 p. 123) The trustees were Daniel Brown, J.W. T. Sanders, Allen W. Thomas, Samuel Thomas, and James H. Baker. The first circuit preacher assigned to North Madison was Washington Malick in 1849. The church, located at 2235 N. Allen St., carries the modern name of North United Methodist, having dropped the name Madison.
North Madison Presbyterian. (Madison) A North Madison Presbyterian Church is mentioned in the 1860 minutes of the Madison Baptist Association as a meeting place for the Baptist group. As previously cited, trustees of the Presbyterian Church, Robert John Elvin, James G. Wilson, James McKeand, and Isaac Richie, trustees of the Presbyterian Church, sold lots 33 and 34 in Richie’s addition, adjoining the Presbyterian Church lot, to the Christian Church trustees in April 1869. (DB 28 p. 597)
Olive Branch Methodist. (Madison Twp.) The church formed by April 4, 1835 when Richard and Martha Hall deeded a half acre in the SW 1/4 Section 7 Twp. 4N Range 11E to the trustees. The deed lists the trustees as Barnabas Henderson, John Stiver, James B. Mitchell, William Woodfill and John W. Short (DB J p. 156). Peter Batschellet deeded an additional tract to the trustees on June 8, 1836 (DB O p. 347).
Henry and Susan Monfort sold another 5 acres and 5 poles on Sept. 5, 1840 to the trustees: then John Bowen, Stiver, Woodfill, Walker Hamilton and Henry Monfort for $500. The trustees sold the five-acre tract on March 29, 1851 to Henry Stucker and wife Mary. The trustees were Stivers, Bowen, George Green, Lewis Mickle, and Eli Allen. The church cemetery appears to have grown from a family cemetery. Susannah Mitchell Hamilton, first wife of James Hamilton, was buried there Oct. 17, 1820. However, this is the only marked grave with a death date before 1840. The church disbanded in 1938. The church building, used as a private residence for many years, burned in 1987. The cemetery, located on the east side of S.R. 62, is in use.
Open Door Baptist. (Graham Twp.) 4013 N. Front, Deputy
Paris Methodist. (Graham Twp.) On Apr. 10, 1856, Dennis Willey and Lydia sold a half acre north of Neals Creek and a half acre south of it to Methodist Trustees for a burying ground. This was previously the Willey family burying ground. (DB 13 p. 228). The trustees were Isaac Rowland, Ezekiel Lewis, Lemuel Wells, Samuel Wells, Harvey S. Rawlings, John Simpson, a Mr. Shilliday, and James Harmon. The land was in the NE1/4 Sec. 4 Twp. 4N Range 8E and the W1/2 NW1/4 Sec. 3. One acre was north of Neil’s Creek. Methodist records show that Amos Bussey was a circuit preacher for Paris in 1839, the first time Paris is mentioned. He was also listed as the minister in 1840. Hayden Hays, was also a minister there in1840. Seth Smith was minister in1841; William McGinnis in 1842; Elisha Cadwell (Caldwell?) and William McGinnis in1843; James Crawford, 1844; John Mellender, 1845 and 1846; Amos Bussey, 1847 and 1848; Daniel Holmes, 1849 and 1850; William Sheets and Othniel Bruner, 1851.
Paynesville Christian. (Saluda Twp.) The church acquired a half acre in the NW 1/4 Section 14 Twp 2N Range 9E on Dec. 12, 1907. (DB 14 p. 29) The Trustees were A.M. Payne, John W. Rankin, Emma Rankin, Harriet King, Oscar Moody, and Effie Moody. An article about the church’s formation says it grew out of meetings held in October 1907 at the IOOF Hall, which was later Hearns Grocery, by 35 disciples. Charter members listed were Minerva Barry Bair, Allen Hutsell, Cordie Snyder Dallas, Benjamin Allen and Cora Noell, Evie Payne, Boris Hearn, Allen Miles, and Edgar Palmer. The building’s dedication occurred on Dec. 20, 1908. The address is 5925 W. Jackson Road, Hanover.
Paynesville-Mt. Zion Methodist. (Saluda Twp.) See Mt. Zion Methodist
Pilgrim Holiness. (Madison) 1004 Park Ave.
Pisgah Methodist. (Graham Twp.) Pisgah was founded in 1818 according to the Historic Sites Inventory, which also reports that the church building was constructed in 1836. Adam Troutman and wife Eva sold one acre to the trustees on Sept. 16, 1837. The land is described as being in the NE1/4 Sec. 15 Twp. 4N Range 8E. (DB O p. 335) The trustees were Lewis Blake, Isaac H. Rowland, John S. Troutman, and Samuel Earhart. In a separate deed, also dated Sept. 16, 1837, John S. and Margaret Troutman sold land (DB O 598) to trustees, Joshua Deputy, Lewis Blake, John Stansbury, William Duffy, and Willis L. Traylor. Trustees elected May 10, 1847 were Alexander Robertson, Joshua Deputy, William Wilson, and Ephraim Hartwell. (MR 1847-1849 p. 79)
Pleasant Meeting House. (Monroe or Shelby Twp.) The Christian Messenger, a denominational newspaper of the Disciples of Christ, reports on Aug. 2, 1827 that a conference of elders and brethren of the Christian Church in the Eastern division of Indiana met at the “Pleasant Meeting House on Indian Kentucky.” Elders present included Beverly Vawter. The Pleasant Meeting house cannot be located, but it seems likely that it was near Vawter’s Monroe Mill on the West Fork of the Indian-Kentuck. It is possible this was another name for Liberty Christian Church.
Otterbein Chapel. (Madison Twp.) On June 3, 1867, the trustees, Robert Imel, William Imel and Henry Davis Jr., were elected to purchase a lot to construct a building on Bee Camp Creek for use as a church of the United Brethren of Christ (MR 14 p. 273.) Robert Imel was presiding elder and Isaac Ball was Secretary. A deed involving the purchase has not been found. However, an article in the Madison Courier of Nov. 9, 1869 notes that "Otterbein Chapel located at Bee Camp will be dedicated Sunday." Such construction delays are not unusual for the era.
The book "Descendants of Peter Imel" says that Robert Imel, Dec. 6, 1815-Aug. 28, 1895, was a minister who moved to Bee Camp from Bennington in 1846 and built the United Brethren stone church. After 1886, he moved to Kansas where he died. Imel’s involvement is confirmed by a mortgage dated Jan. 16, 1872 in which the trustees for the Otterbein Chapel, United Brethren Church at Bee Camp, borrowed $866.99 to pay Imel “for work, labor, money and material in erection of said church building.” The exact property description is not given, but refers to a border tract owned by Henry Davis and cites Deed Book 25 p. 420 for a more specific location. This deed from Gabriel Woodfill to Henry Davis, dated Apr. 3, 1865, was for 20 acres in the NE1/4 Section 33 Twp. 4N Range 11E. Bee Camp Creek crosses this quarter section.
On March 15, 1873, Otterbein elected James Bingham, J.W. Connett, J.W. Denning, Joseph Gray, and John W. Brandon as trustees (Misc. 1 p. 219.) The election notice also reported that the trustees voted to acquire land in order "to be erected a house of worship." It is not known why the church abandoned the stone building, which still exists. Perhaps, they did not pay back the construction loan as there is no listing of the cancellation of the mortgage. The other possibility is that Imel, who seems to have become a Baptist minister, had evicted them to make way for the short-lived Bee Camp Baptist Church.
The search for a new building does not appear to have been immediately successful. On May 8, 1875, trustees met at the United Brethren Church near the Lewis School House in Ripley County. and voted to buy the Eagle Hollow School House (Misc.1 p. 331.) The trustees were William Kiel, Daniel Grebe, and Nathan Schoolcraft. On Aug. 20, 1875, the church elected Kiel, Grebe, and George Patton to get a deed for the property. On Jan. 25, 1879, the church elected trustees in a meeting held at the Eagle Hollow School Schoolhouse (Misc.1 p. 530.) Elected were Anderson Melton, Daniel Grebe, Henry Sherlock, Gamaliel Taylor, Hoss Haskell, and David Clark, P.C.
The group was finally successful in purchasing the school house, identified as located at the corner of Ferry and High Street. School trustees sold the property to William Kiel, Daniel Grebe, Nathan Schoolcraft, Joseph Gray, and George Peters for $300. Trustees were elected as late as Aug. 12, 1916 with the selection of Frank Lockridge, Edward Adams, and James Davis (MR 4 p. 566) The church was part of the Vevay Charge. A number of members were buried in the Pleasant Ridge Methodist cemetery.
Pleasant Ridge Methodist. (Milton Twp.) A hand-written history in the back of the church’s record book says that home meetings of the Pleasant Ridge Methodist Church began in 1839 under circuit rider Monroe Hayes. The oldest surviving church record book, from the 1880s, shows that Ann Fowler Adams was received in 1839 by Hayden Hayes. However, no other members from the original church apparently survived at that time. A building of hewn logs was erected on the farm owned by Charles H. and Edwin G. Lyon in 1843. Two members in the 1880s show their membership had been transferred from the old log church. The congregation moved to property owned by John and Matilda Gray, who sold the property to the trustees on Aug. 15, 1849 (DB 5 p. 280) on the Gray’s deed to trustees Isaac Painter, Isaac Moler, James Fagg, and John Gray. The property is located in the SE1/4 SW1/4 Section 27 Twp. 4N Range 11E.
According to the handwritten history, Isaac Painter was school superintendent for many years with Mordecai Brooks, Tompkins, Sterns, and Ben Abbott as early ministers. Miscellaneous Jefferson County records show on Aug 8, 1868, the trustees were, Enoch Adams, James Gray, Joseph F. Gray, Olive B. Gray, John Hitz, Jephtha Mayfield, John Winters. The building was remodeled in 1901 and was dedicated in November of that year. The church burned in 1928 was reconstructed on the site. During recent years, attendance was light and in 2002 the church was reportedly disbanding. The church and cemetery are located on Pleasant Ridge Road, just east of the Madison-Milton Township boundary.
Pleasant Valley Methodist. (Graham Twp.) On June 1, 1854, Lindsay Boyd and wife Deborah sold 1.83 acres in the S1/2 NW1/4 Sec. 26 Twp. 4N Range 8E to the trustees. (DB 10 p. 555), Simpson Evans, Silas Evans, Anderson Law, John Whitsett, Henry Walton, Jacob Dubler/Drubler, and James Horde (?). The trustees of a Methodist Church met at Concord Schoolhouse on May 31, 1855 (MR 5 p. 199) This is probably the Pleasant Valley Methodist Church. On March 23, 1854, Elizabeth Hinds sold 2.5 acres in the SE1/4 Sec. 28 Twp. 4N Range 8E to the trustees for a public burying ground. (DB 11 p. 35) The trustees were William W. Jackson, William Friedly, Jesse Boyd, Hezekiah Gasaway, and Acquilla Jackson. On Dec. 2, 1856, Jesse and Sally Boyd sold 1.5 acres to the trustees in the NW1/4 Sec. 28. (DB 11 p. 33) The trustees were William W. Jackson, William Friedly, Jesse Boyd, Hezekiah Gasaway and Acquilla Jackson. This was probably the church associated with the Valley Cemetery in Graham Township, about a half mile east of S.R. 3 and 3.5 miles southeast of Deputy. The trustees sold 31.50 acres in the NW1/4 Section 28 to Harry Wallace on Feb. 4, 1871. (DB 31 p. 415) The trustees at the time were William W. Jackson, Daniel McCurry, Jacob McCurry, Samuel McCurry, successors to William W. Jackson, William Friedly, Jesse Boyd, and Hezekiah Gasaway. A cemetery association was formed on July 12, 1899 through the Methodist District. The trustees were James T. McCurry, Allen FitzHenry, and Benson D. Rice (MR 3 p. 325). Perhaps the church was extinct at this time, hence the district’s involvement in forming the association.
Prince of Peace Catholic Church. (Madison) This parish was formed by the merger of St. Patrick’s, St. Mary’s, St. Michael’s, and St. Anthony’s in 1993. It occupies the building that housed the former St. Mary’s at 413 E. Second St., Madison.
Providence Methodist Meeting House (Monroe or Shelby Twp.) The Jefferson County Historical Society's Shelby Township history describes the Providence Methodist Church as follows: "Providence Presbyterian church. Very little is known of this church. By the statement of old residents of Canaan it stood about 3 and ½ miles northwest of that village, but all recollections of it were hazy when a few years since, we made inquires in the Canaan locality. Mr. E.B. Bishop thought it was built by Robert Irvin in the latter thirties. Mrs. M.A. Hillis thought that it was Methodist and not a Presbyterian and that it stood on the Woodfill farm and that Robert Irvin did not found it.
One official record proves it was a Methodist body. Trustees of the Providence Methodist Meeting House, Henry Cooperider, Elisha Bassett, Benjamin Vanhorn, John Sage. and James Blankenship, were elected on Jan. 19, 1830 (DB D p 315) The deed entry does not give the section in which the property was located. No other official records have been found. Placing this church 3.5 miles northwest of Canaan, per the above description, would put the site near the Camp Meeting Grounds in Section 1 Twp. 5N Range 10E in Monroe Township, north of Bryantsburg.
Radical Church. (Madison) The congregation of Roberts Chapel met at the Old Radical Church in Madison from its founding in 1842 until 1844. The denomination involved has not yet been determined, but was probably Methodist. This may be the congregation at which Asa Shinn preached. (See Shinn Chapel.)
Reorganized Church of Latter Day Saints. (Milton Twp.) A Reorganized Church of the Latter Day Saints, was founded on Halls Ridge with the initial meeting taking place on the Shelby Township end of the ridge. The Reorganized Church split from the Mormons after the death of Joseph Smith in 1844 and was headed by his son, Joseph. This group did not use the name Mormon, but its critics probably did not make a distinction.
The apparent first meeting is referred to in a sarcastic account in the Evening Courier of April 16, 1877. The article contains the subhead "A Disciple of Joe Smith in the Happy Land of Shelby" and mocks the Mormons. The number attending, the names, the location, other than being listed as Hall's Ridge, are not given. Denominational records show that a conference of the Southern Indiana District was held March 16, 1878, according to the Saints Herald, a denominational publication. Conferences were also held on Hall’s Ridge on Nov. 20, 1879, and again on March 5, 1881. The 1879 record reports the organization of a Mt. Pleasant congregation, which is probably be the Hall’s Ridge group as its organization date was Oct. 13, 1879. It seems likely that this group and the later Mt. Pleasant Baptist Church took their name from the hilltop, which was known as Mt. Pleasant. Mt. Pleasant had 22 members at this time. The next definite report comes in March 1893 when William C. Marshall held baptisms and confirmations for three unnamed people at “Brother Porter’s home” on Hall’s Ridge. The account stated there were nine members. All of these accounts are from issues of the Saints Herald.
William J. and Minerva Wainscott deeded a tract in the W1/2 NE1/4 Section 3 Twp. 4N Range 11E to the Reorganized Church of the Latter Day Saints on March 4, 1894 (DB 63 p. 312.) This deed identifies no local trustees, listing only Bishop E.L. Kelley at the church headquarters in Lamoni, Decatur Co., Iowa. The church did not last much longer as the property was sold to the Wainscotts by the Reorganized Church on Nov. 28, 1904 for $20 (DB 77 p. 344.) A letter from Shirley Rogers, dated Nov. 18, 1993, states that his father, Ross Rogers tore down the church building for lumber after buying the property from the Martin and Ida Brown in 1913, who purchased it from the Wainscott. It was on the east side of Hall’s Road, just slightly south of the line dividing Shelby and Milton Townships, less than a mile south of Mt. Pleasant Baptist Church. There was no cemetery associated with this church. In the year 2000, the denomination changed its name to Community of Christ.
Reorganized Church of Latter Day Saints. (Other locations.?) Records of this denomination shows that there were Jefferson County residents who were members of branches that include Union Branch, Olive Branch, and Low Gap Branch. The archivist who sent me this information in 1996 said that the records can be searched for a fee. In 1879, Low Gap reported 20 members. Olive Branch is probably the church that gave its name to a cemetery in Ripley County. It could have drawn Jefferson County members.
Resurrection Lutheran. (Madison) Located at 1429 Clifty Drive.
Roberts Chapel. (Madison.) A newspaper account about Trinity Church says that Roberts was founded on Third Street in 1842 by 62 members who withdrew from Wesley Chapel because of its establishment of a choir. The body met at the Old Radical Church until 1844, then moved to Third Street between Poplar and Broadway.
The UGRR identifies this as an anti-slavery congregation. The Historic Sites Inventory says the building dates from 1844. On June 7, 1854, Joseph Roberts and wife, Ellen, sold a lot 84 feet square on the NE corner of Main Cross, lot 10 in McIntire’s addition to the trustees for $1,250. (DB 10 p. 615) The trustees were Caleb Schmidlapp, John E. Moore, John W. Short, Moses D. Brooke, and John H. Taylor. The 1859 Madison Directory shows Roberts' Chapel as a Methodist Episcopal Church on the North side of Third Street between Poplar and Broadway. Rev. Wm. H. Sheets, Pastor. The church merged with Trinity United Methodist on May 28, 1868.
Ryker’s Ridge Baptist Church. (Madison Twp.) A history that was microfilmed with the church’s minutes (author unknown) states that a community church preceded the formation of the Ryker's Ridge Church. This account says the first church dated from 1819 with charter members, Samuel J. Ryker and wife, John J. Ryker, Jarardus (sic) Ryker, John Lott, two families of Yates, a Carr, and probably a Hoagland. This group met first in a blockhouse, and then in a schoolhouse. This church could not join any denomination associations because it included Methodists, Presbyterians, and probably some Primitive or Hardshell Baptists according to this account. The formation of a church was also probably retarded because older Rykers were Presbyterian and joined the Madison Presbyterian church. Ryker's Ridge was organized in 1841 and joined the Madison Baptist Association the same year when it reported thirteen members. The original twelve members were John Lott, Rhoda Ryker, John Carr, Abner Lott, Catherine Orrill, Mary Jones, Catherine Melton, William A. Jones, Samuel Ryker, Permelia Carr, Rhoda Lott, and William Melton. John Lott and wife, Phoebe, deeded the tract for the church to trustees, Samuel Ryker, John Carr, and Jared Ryker, on Nov. 12, 1842 (DB U p. 185). This land is in the SW1/4 Section 17 Twp. 4N Range 11E. Lott also gave the church the right to use a spring to the west of the property. The brick church sanctuary was built in 1878, according to an inscription on the building. 2601 N. Ryker’s Ridge Road. The church is currently building a new sanctuary. The old cemetery is a quarter mile north on Ryker’s Ridge Road, while the more active new cemetery is another half mile or so north.
St. Anthony's Roman Catholic Church (Shelby Twp.) The History of St. Anthony's Church at China, Indiana, 1849-1959, by William J. Kremer says that the first Mass was read on St. Anthony's Day, June 13, 1849, in a brick house the farm home of Hans Weber, occupied in the in the later 1950s and later by Earl and Eva McGee (This house was destroyed in a tornado that struck Madison and tore a path to Canaan on April 3, 1974.) According to Elma Schafer's history of the St. Anthony’s, the first Mass was celebrated by Father Anthony Carius on July 13. Until 1861, Mass was held once a month on Thursdays by Carius and Father Leonard Brandt of St. Mary's Church. Land for the church was sold by John Weber and wife Ann Marie, to Maurice de St. Pallais, not identified in the deed, but who was the Bishop of the Diocese of Vincennes, on April 15, 1851 (DB 7 p. 306.) The land is identified as being 1.5 acres in the SE1/4 Section 31 Twp. 5N Range 11E. Records of the Diocese of Indianapolis show that a log church was erected in 1861 on the south section of the present building with the sandstone church constructed in 1869. The corner stone was laid on Sunday, June 13, 1869 (Daily Courier, June 14, 1869.) The walls were erected by John Spelz, a stone mason, who lived on Turkey Branch. The church operated until 1993, when it was made part of the combined Prince of Peace Parish. The church building is located on S.R. 62, between Razor’s Fork and the West Branch of the Indian-Kentuck Creek at China and is just inside the line dividing Shelby and Madison Townships. It is used as a Catholic retreat. Masses are still said. The St. Anthony’s cemetery is located on a rise on the west side of the West Fork in Madison Township about a half mile from the church building.
St. John’s Methodist. (Madison) Trustees elected on Dec. 13, 1848 were Chauncy B. Lewis, John E. Moore, John W. Short and Nelson Reed (MR 1847/48 p. 566) The church was located at Upper Seminary. Thomas Lynch, 1849, Fernando Holliday, 1850, Barlett Coffin was circuit minister in 1851. St. John’s later merged with Trinity United Methodist and sold its building to the Lutherans on Apr. 4, 1872 (DB 36 p. 320) The Historic Sites Inventory says the building dates from 1849 to 1850.
St. John’s United Church of Christ. (Madison) 08 East St. Description in progress.
St. Mary’s Catholic Church. (Madison) Maurice De St. Palais received lot 82 on the original plat of Madison for the use of German Catholics on Sept. 7, 1850. (DB 6 p. 435). Although the deed does not identify him, De St. Palais was the bishop of Vincennes. The land was deeded by Martin and Rachel Nodler, Henry Dreier, and Mathias and Elizabeth Greiner. This deed occurred the same year the congregation was organized. The land was Lot 82 on the original plat of Madison on North Vine Street, north of Second Street. According to the Biographical Souvenir, the church was built in 1851 and the school building in 1876. The 1859 Madison directory identifies the church as “German Catholic–St Mary's--North side 2d between Walnut and East. Rev. Leonard Brandt, Pastor. “ St. Mary’s was combined into the Prince of Peace Parish with the other Jefferson County parishes in 1993.
St. Michael’s Catholic Church. (Madison) The church was founded July 18, 1837. The church building was completed just before Christmas in 1839, with its stone coming from the Madison railroad cut. The church became known as the English Catholic Church, as opposed to St. Mary’s, which was known as German Catholic. The 1859 Madison City Directory lists it as follows: English Catholic--St. Michael's Church.--North side 3d above East. Rev. H. Dupontavice, Pastor. It operated as St. Michael’s until 1993, when it was combined in the Prince of Peace Parish. Description in progress. I have not yet located the deed for the property.
St. Patrick’s Catholic Church. (Madison) Description under construction. The Historic Sites Inventory says the chapel was built ca. 1860 and that the church was built ca. 1910. A parish history has been published and is reportedly available at the Madison library. The church is located in North Madison.
St. Paul’s Baptist Church. (Madison) The will of George Coleman, written March 20, 1843 in Jefferson Co. (PB F-283) mentions a lot on Walnut Street “between the African Church and Crooked Creek.” John Verry deeded land to the African Church in Woodburn’s addition on Nov. 1, 1848 for $500. Although this deed is indexed as being in DB 3 p. 787, I have not been able to find the deed, but this would seem to be the Baptist congregation. The Historic Sites Inventory says the building housing St. Paul’s was constructed in 1849. But it does not appear the name St. Paul’s was commonly used until the second half of the nineteenth century Madison Baptist Association minutes of 1860 as a general report that the Second Baptist church (but not calling it St. Paul’s) had regular Sunday preaching, regular prayer meetings, a good Sabbath school and library. The 1859/60 Madison directory describes the colored Baptist Church as being on the north side of Fifth Street between Mulberry and West. Rev. Chapman Harris was the pastor. The 1879 city directory refers to St. Paul’s Baptist Church as a colored church. UGRR says that the Broadway Baptist Church is a descendant of St. Paul’s.
St. Stephen’s A.M.E. Church. (Hanover) George Schneider sold a lot to the trustees, Silas Lewis, and Samuel Tull on Sept. 20, 1860 (but the deed was not recorded until Sept. 8, 1892). This was land in Hanover in Section 12 Twp. 3N Range 10 E. (DB 60 p. 36) Sketches about this historically black church are available in the Madison Public Library.
Saluda Baptist. (Saluda Twp.) A member of the Silver Creek Association in 1823, Saluda had 35 members and its messengers were John T. West, George Monroe, and James C Nicholson when it joined. This church was a founding member of the Coffee Creek Association in August 1827 and was represented by Ezekiel Johnson. Its membership in 1828 was nineteen and it was represented by Johnson and Monroe. In 1839, it reported a membership of 12 to the Coffee Creek Association and one messenger, B.M. Barnett. The Coffee Creek history reports that it had disbanded.
Saluda Universalist Church. (Saluda Twp.). Land in Section 15 Twp. 2N Range 9E was deeded to the trustees of the Universalist Church by Samuel and Margaret Tolbert on Dec. 12, 1848 (DB 4 p. 230.) The trustees were Jacobs Fouts of Clark County, and Daniel P. Monroe, Lauder A.W. Dickerson, and Benjamin Tibbets. This land is near Paynesville. This is probably the same congregation noted in the DAR abstract called Early Newspapers of Jefferson County, which reports that the “New Universalist Church at Saluda to be dedicated third Sunday in May.” The article was dated March 28, 1855. The same congregation was probably involved when Esther Lee, who wrote her will on Feb. 13, 1873, bequeathed $500 to the Universalist Church in Saluda. The congregation, calling itself the First Universalist Church of Saluda, elected J. Summers as moderator for one year, A.W. Fisher, treasurer, Mary Samples, clerk. Trustees were W.D. Wells, and J.E. Fouts. Deacons were Mrs. Ella Fisher and Mrs. Eva Wells. (MR 4 p. 182) The denomination purchased the 150-foot-square lot from the congregation on Nov. 4, 1893 (DB 62 p. 160) under a rule that the denomination should own church property. The trustees were [Initials are difficult to read] W.H. Wells, A.M. Fisher, and John Herner.
Salvation Army. (Madison) 112 E. Third St.
Seals Fork Sunday School. (Shelby Twp.) Preaching at the Seals Fork School House began when the Brushy Fork Church agreed “for our pastor to go and preach at Ceales Fork School House in the afternoon on the 2 Sab in ea mo...” in a decision made on the fourth Saturday in June 1885. The Seals Fork mission was formed in 1894–its only known activity was a Sunday school, as shown by minutes of the Long Run Baptist Association. The 1895 association minutes report an attendance of forty-three students along with seven teachers. The Seals Fork mission probably disbanded because of the formation of the Mt. Pleasant Baptist Church on Halls Ridge. The only person who can be linked to Seals Fork, superintendent George W. Rea, became a founding member of Mt. Pleasant in 1897.
Secession Church.: (See Mt. Pleasant Methodist Church)
Secession Church. (Lancaster Twp.?) George Cottman’s History of Lancaster Township mentions a Secession Church, largely attended by Scots from North Carolina. However, it seems likely this was the Secession Church that became Mt. Pleasant Methodist and that this church was just over the border in Smyrna Twp.
Seventh Day Adventist. (Madison) 1632 Bear St.
Seventh Day Adventist. (Monroe Twp.) A society of this denomination was meeting in Monroe Township, according to the Biographical Souvenir (1889), but the account says there was no report “furnished for publication.” I have no knowledge whether this body has any connection with the modern Adventist congregation.
Sharon Hill Presbyterian Church. (Republican Twp.) This church is mentioned in the Biographical Souvenir, published in 1889. At the time it had a membership of 57. The church formed a cemetery association and had conditions for the cemetery’s ownership if the church ceased to exist. Trustees elected at that time, Nov. 20, 1921, were Jacob Hensler, Arthur Wilson, Lincoln Clever, Fred Hensler, Harry Warren, Hartley Stein, and Fred Stein. (MR 5 p. 226) The earliest death date on DAR cemetery transcriptions is 1861.
Smyrna Presbyterian. (Smyrna Twp.) Solomon and Jane Martin donated a half acre in the NW1/4 Sec. 24 Twp. 4N Range 9E to the trustees on March 28, 1842. (DB T p. 329) The deed identifies the land as including the Smyrna Meeting House and the congregation as being in full communion with the Old School Presbyterians. The trustees were identified as Arthur McKinney, Joseph Hamilton, and Campbell Kinnear. The Historic Sites Inventory says the current building dates from about 1925. The Monroe Presbyterian congregation merged with Smyrna after the Monroe church property was taken as part of the Jefferson Proving Ground in 1941.
Shiloh Methodist. (Smyrna Twp.) This church may date from the early 1820s. A biographical sketch of Nicholas Gasaway in the Biographic Souvenir states that he was converted when he was 17 “under the ministry of Rev. James Armstrong, at Shiloh, on Kent Circuit.” Since the same sketch his birth date as 1806, the conversion was ca. 1823. The earliest formal record I have found comes on March 8, 1841 when John and Lavinia Duffey sold a lot to the trustees for $1. (DB T p. 193) The land was in the NE1/4 Sec. 20 Twp. 4N Range 9E. The trustees were Elisha Bassett, Abraham Shrouders (?), Nicholas Gasaway, Nathan Gasaway, and William Duffy. On Oct. 2, 1852, Nathan and Amanda Gasaway sold land in the NW1/4 Sec. 15 Twp. 4N Range 9E for $50 in order to erect a Methodist Church. (DB 8 p. 420) The trustees were William Duffy, John Duffey, Nicholas Gasaway, Nathan Gasaway, and William Officer. The record states these men were named in an election on Oct. 1, 1852 from Shiloh Methodist Church in Smyrna (MR 4 p. 217) The election notes that these men are five of the seven trustees of the old Shiloh Church and that the land was to “supply the place on which the new one is built.” The 1941 DAR cemetery transcriptions show only one death date in the 1920s, and most of the later ones clustered in the 1880s.
Shinn Methodist Chapel. (Madison) The 1872/73 Madison City directory places this congregation on the south side of Main Cross (modern Main) at Depot (modern Craigmont). UGRR says there was a radical anti-slavery group dating to 1829 with preaching by Asa Shinn, founder of the M.P. Church. Perhaps Shinn and the Old Radical Church are related (or the same), although the earlier congregation seems to be further east than Shinn Chapel at the NE corner of Poplar and an alley between Main Cross (now Main) and Presbyterian.
Trinity Methodist. (Madison) According to a newspaper clipping about Trinity, the first Methodist worship in Madison was in 1814 at the McIntire house at the corner of Main (then called Main Cross) and East Street. It is not clear to me that this led directly to the founding of Trinity, which occurred in 1829, according to this article. An article in a Madison Courier of Sept. 21, 1883 contains a comment refuting a previously published claim that a Methodist Church had been constructed on East Street in 1812. This correspondent said the construction occurred in 1815/16. That is also contradicted by the report in the Biographical Souvenir (published in 1885) that the first Methodist worship came in 1811. Perhaps that is reporting worship as opposed to the first founding of a congregation. I am also puzzled by the history leading to the formation of Trinity since it is not listed in the 1859 Madison City directory and the 1849 deed, in which members of the United Brethren, Regular Baptist, and Madison Methodist agree to share a building, refers to the Madison Methodist, not to Trinity. I am assuming the name Trinity was a later usage and could use information about this. Roberts Chapel merged with Trinity on May 28, 1868. The cornerstone of the modern church was laid on Sept. 9, 1872, with the dedication taking place in June 1874. This construction followed the merger with St. John’s Methodist earlier in 1872. Trinity and Grace Methodist merged on Sept. 25, 1905. (MR 5 p. 404)
Tryus Universalist Church. (Saluda Twp.) The church building was built about 1870, according to the Historic Sites Inventory. Daniel P. Monroe sold the trustees, W.H. Wheeler, W.P. MicKinley, and A.M. Fugett, a lot 150 feet square in the NE1/4 Sec. 12, Range 2N Twp. 9 E. on Oct. 20, 1884. (DB 50 page 63) This church may be a successor to the Universalist Church of Saluda Township as Monroe had been a trustee with that organization. Trustees elected on July 19, 1914 were Andrew M. Taff and Benjamin T. Wells. Eva B. Wells was Clerk. (MR 4 p. 500) Trustees elected on Sept. 24, 1921 were Mrs. A.M. Taff, and Mrs. Eva B. Well. Robert King was clerk and Sadie L. Barnes treasurer. (MR 5 p. 200) The church was located on Taylor Road, east of S.R. 62 and west of Paynesville.
Union Church. (Madison Twp.) Joseph Wilson deeded one acre in the SE 1/4 Sec. 14 Twp. 4N Range 10E to the church trustees on July 30, 1821. (DB C p. 200). The deed does not identify the denomination or name of the congregation. However, the deed index book gives the grantee as Union Church. Trustees listed by the deed are John Woodfill, Alexander Jemison, Abraham Wilson, Gabriel Woodfill, Jethro Athison, and John Wilson. The deed gave land for the purposes of having a “meeting house erected on said Wilson’s land.” This land is in Madison Township and the quarter section borders U.S. 421 and adjoins the northern boundary of Madison (2002.) The 1876 shows several Woodfills owning land in the adjoining section.
Union Methodist. (Monroe Twp.) The first record of Union Methodist Church comes on March 3, 1855 when trustees William Turner, David Cope, Jacob Boyd, Joseph Richards, and Benjamin Scott were elected in a meeting held at the meeting house on land owned by Turner (MR 4 p. 566.) This land was described as being on the Michigan Plank Road near the seven-mile post. The Biographical Souvenir reports that a Methodist church exists at Mud Luck (the older name for Belleview.) The 1876/78 and a 1900 Jefferson County Plat Map shows a church located on the east side of modern U.S. 421, roughly the SW1/4 NE1/4 Section 26 Twp. 5N Range 10E, just south of Belleview. In April 1855, William Farmer (or is this Turner) sold land to trustees Joseph Richards, Benjamin Scott, David Cope, Jacob Buyer, and William Farmer in the NE 1/4 Section 26 Twp. 5N Range 10E. This description places it just southwest of Belleview on property now a part of Jefferson Proving Ground (DB 11 p. 620.) Union was part of the Canaan circuit in 1868. On Sept. 9, 1895, it reported the election of trustees: H.H. Yost, Martin E. Sheldon, Charles E. Rousch Jr., William Cope, and Thomas Royce (Misc. 3 p. 27.) Trustees elected on June 16, 1916 were William B. Royce, I.N. Yost, Grant Wright, and James M. Rogers. (Misc. 4 p. 152)
Wesley Methodist Chapel. (Madison ) The trustees of the Wesley Methodist Church purchased lot 38 in the First Addition West on Sept. 30, 1830 (DB G p. 139). It also appears in 1842 in a list of Methodist Circuit Preachers when Augustus Eddy was listed as minister. Ministers listed additionally were John Miller (1844); William Hibben (1845); William Smith (1846, 1847); Charles Davidson (1849, 1850). Trustees elected Sept. 6, 1847 were G.W. Barnett (?), Rev. Gam Taylor, Silas Richee, Willis F. Thomas, and William H. Phillips. (MR 1847-48 p. 129.) The 1859 Madison directory places it on the North side of Main Cross (modern Main Street) between West and Poplar. Rev. William Snyder was pastor at the time. It was also listed in the 1872/73 Madison directory. Trustees William E. Horde, Charles Richardson, Gavin K. Lodge, and Henry Monfort acquired lot 28 in the West addition on Oct. 1, 1868. (DB 30 p. 299).
West Madison Methodist. (Madison.) Still in existence on West Main Street, west of the railroad tracks, this church was in what was then the town of West Madison. Trustees elected on March 23, 1901 were C.W. Wykoff, Charles Benson, and Joseph Douglas. Trustees elected in 1913 were John F. Hammel, Charles E. Benson, Charles Monroe, and William L. Thomas. (MR 4 p. 489). The building, located at 1100 W. Main Street, was originally a tavern, according to a Madison Web site.
White River Baptist. (Republican Twp.) The Coffee Creek History says that elder Jesse Vawter organized Baptists and that in June 1811, 13 persons constituted the White River Baptist Church. These were Alex. Chambers and wife, Perry G. Magness and wife, Isom Blankenship and wife, Isaac Hall, B. O. Hollenshead, Susan Wheat, Susan Monroe, Mary Hoagland, Sarah Monroe, and Mary Chambers. This account says the church met at the house of Alexander Chambers for three years. The church takes its name from what was then called White River, but is now called Big Creek.
White River joined the Silver Creek Baptist Association in 1813 and was a founding member of the Coffee Creek Association in August 1827. It was represented that year by A. Chambers, M. Monroe, William Chambers, and S.D. Monroe. A biographical sketch of Elder William Blankenship in the Coffee Creek History reports he was baptized at this church about 1813 and became its minister in 1828. Trustees reported on July 1, 1854 were William Chambers Sr. James Hendricks, Isaac Lane (or Lame?), A Wood, Wm. Monroe, and George Monroe. (MR 5 p. 250) The congregation is reported as White River and the record notes the election was held at the meeting house. The Historic Sites Inventory reports the church was halted in 1887. The White River Cemetery is located in Section 8 Twp. 3N Range 9E, south of Kent on Polk Road. The Rev. William Chambers, who died July 6, 1867, age 33 years, is buried there.
White River Christian Meeting House. (Republican Twp.) See Kent Christian. This appears to be the original name of the Kent Christian Church and was the name when the original deed was written in 1839. It is not known when the name officially changed, but it had changed by May 11, 1891 when the deed was finally filed.
Wirt Baptist. (Madison Twp.) Originally known as the Harbert’s Creek Baptist Church,
See Harbert’s Creek for early history. The church building and cemetery are located at 4773 N. 350 W.
Zoar Methodist. (Hanover Twp.) The church was founded in 1858. The cemetery
Cemetery is located next to Zoar Methodist Church just south of Highway 256 on Road 800 West, east of Kent in Section 2, Twp. 3N Range 9E. The Historic Sites Inventory places the current building’s construction at ca. 1870. Description under construction.